FEMA Application Deadline Extended


    NEW YORK – The deadline for Hurricane Sandy survivors in 13 designated New
    York counties to register for Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster
    assistance has been extended to January 28, 2013.

    The extension agreed upon by the state and FEMA is for survivors living in
    disaster-designated individual assistance counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau,
    New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland,  Suffolk, Sullivan,
    Ulster, Westchester.

    Federal disaster assistance for individuals and families can include money
    for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property losses and
    other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.

    Individuals can register online at www.disasterassistance.gov or via
    smartphone or tablet at m.fema.gov.

    Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. Applicants who
    use 7-1-1 Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) may call 800-621-3362. The
    toll-free telephone numbers operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week until
    further notice.

    For more information on New York’s disaster recovery, visit
    www.fema.gov/disaster/4085, http://twitter.com/FEMASandy,