Affected Taxpayers, Tax Preparers and Relief Workers In Counties Declared Disaster Areas Among Those Provided Extra Time To Pay and File Taxes


    The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance announced the extension of certain tax filing and payment deadlines for affected taxpayers, tax preparers and relief workers in counties that were declared disaster areas by President Barack Obama.

    The deadlines for most filings and tax payments have been extended to October 31, 2011. The deadlines for withholding payments and Metropolitan Commuter Transportation Mobility Tax payments have been extended to September 12th, 2011. There are no extensions for payments required to be made through the Prompt Tax system for sales tax, prepaid sales tax and excise tax on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel and the petroleum business tax.

    Eligible counties currently include: Albany, Clinton, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Suffolk, Ulster, Warren, and Westchester. Additional taxpayers may become eligible for the extension should other counties be declared disaster areas.

    Additional time for payments and filing beyond the extension date will be considered on a case by case basis for affected taxpayers whose individual circumstances warrant additional consideration. For more information, taxpayers should visit    

    Phone calls may be directed as follows:
    Forms and Instructions: 518.457.5431
    Personal Income Tax: 518.457.5181
    Sales Tax: 518.485.2889
    Corporation Tax: 518.485.6027
    Withholding Tax: 518.485.6654
    Miscellaneous Business Tax: 518.457.5735