This Senator is currently inactive, and this content is provided to you as an archive. To read content from your current Senator, please use our Senator lookup tool.



    Brewster, N.Y. – (11/08/2013) – The picks are in! Senator Greg Ball (R,C,I-Patterson), Chairman of the Senate Veterans, Homeland Security and Military Affairs Committee, asked towns, villages and cities throughout his district to nominate a veteran to be inducted into the 40th Senate District’s 3rd Annual Veterans’ Hall of Fame.

    Senator Ball is now happy to announce the 3rd class of veterans will be officially accepted into the Hall of Fame on Thursday, November 21, 2013 at 6 PM hosted at the Mahopac Falls Elementary, 100 Myrtle Ave, Mahopac, NY 10541.

    “I created the Veterans’ Hall of Fame to honor outstanding individuals who have nobly and selflessly served the United States of America. Nominated by their communities, these heroic men and women have pursued a distinguished path in both their military and civilian lives, demonstrating admirable qualities and reaching great achievements worthy of this recognition,” said Senator Greg Ball. “These extraordinary veterans devoted their lives to a cause greater than one’s self, nobly dedicating themselves to preserving the safety and freedom of the American people through acts of courage, honor and integrity.”

    Each veteran honored at the ceremony will also be included on a traveling wall that will tour local municipalities and schools throughout the 40th district.

    The complete list of the 3rd Annual Veterans’ Hall of Fame Nominees along with pictures and biographies:

    Beekman, Lieutenant Colonel Gerald Richardson

    Brewster, Staff Sgt. Steven Mattson

    Buchanan, Chief Fire Controlman Ralph Anderson

    Buchanan, Corporal Joseph Occhipinti

    Carmel, Yeoman 3rd Class Yvonne Rustico

    Carmel, Captain Edmund Francis Duncan (Posthumously)

    Cortlandt, Fire Control 3rd Class George Price

    Croton-On-Hudson, Gunners Mate 3rd Class Joseph Turturro

    Hawthorne, Sergeant E-5 Giuseppe “Joe” Tanzi

    Kent, Staff Sergeant Charles Connor

    Lewisboro, Private First Class Daniel Sant

    Montrose, Private First Class Paul Raphael

    Mt. Kisco, Corporal John Hvisch

    Mt. Pleasant, Petty Officer Ronald Rose

    Mt. Pleasant, Corporal Edmund Burke

    New Castle, Staff Sergeant Mark Blindman

    North Salem, Sergeant Andrew Sandor

    Patterson, Sergeant Anthony Nacerino

    Pawling, Sergeant Michael Kelly

    Peekskill, Corporal Charles Wassil, Jr. (Posthumously)

    Pleasantville, Captain Scott Elliott

    Putnam Valley, Specialist 4th Class Charles Monte

    Putnam Valley, Specialist Laurence Gibbs

    Somers, Private First Class Nicholas Lapenna

    Southeast, Tech-5 Class Donald Pippin

    Yorktown, Sergeant Dimitri Sywyk

    Yorktown, Sergeant William Lewis

    For more information, please contact (845) 531-9796