This Senator is currently inactive, and this content is provided to you as an archive. To read content from your current Senator, please use our Senator lookup tool.



    Mahopac, N.Y. – 5/30/14 – Senator Greg Ball (R, C, I – Patterson) has inducted nineteen extraordinary women into the 40th Senate District 3rd Annual Women of Distinction Hall of Fame.

    “The Women of Distinction Ceremony was a project I launched in recognition of Women’s History Month and inspired by the accomplished and outstanding women I have had the privilege of collaborating with through my current tenure serving the people of the 40th Senate District. While all those nominated have worked and volunteered without want of recognition, their efforts have not gone without notice or appreciation,” said Senator Greg Ball. “The diversity and depth of their work speaks to the amount of time and dedication each has volunteered on behalf of and in support of a simple truth; that all change is local. Each took it upon herself to respond to some compelling community need. These women did not wait or idle when the opportunity for real change presented itself. Instead, each used her own unique talents and skills to respond to an issue or challenge in her community that merited action.”

    Created and hosted by Senator Ball, The Women Of Distinction Hall of Fame was designed to honor outstanding women from throughout the 40th Senate District. Towns, villages and cities district-wide selected nominees that were honored at a ceremony on May 29th at Villa Barone in Mahopac.

    “I want to thank Senator Ball for this distinguished honor. It’s great that he has taken this opportunity to honor so many fine women in our community. I am very proud to be amongst them,” said Denise Kness of Yorktown.

    “Denise Kness embodies all of the qualities The Women of Distinction Hall of Fame honors. She is a pillar of the community; from her work within the Lakeland School to District to Alliance for Safe Kids her leadership and dedication to our children’s future is second to none. It has been an honor working along side her and I look forward to her continued work for our community,” said Councilman Terrence Murphy.

    “I am greatly honored by the recognition of Distinction by Senator Ball. I have enjoyed living a full life enhanced by service to my community, particularly in the areas of history, agriculture and nursing. I offer my thanks to the many wonderful people who have shown me the way and to all who have served with me,” said Elizabeth Ryder of Southeast.

    “I am extremely honored to receive recognition as one of Senator Ball’s Women of Distinction. The Senator has been a good friend of mine for years and I really appreciate all that he does. I am overjoyed and humbled to accept this huge honor,” said Tracy Griffin.

    “Anne’s day in and day out devotion, dedication and commitment to the residents and business owners in the Town of Carmel exemplifies the meaning of professionalism. She is a remarkable individual who works tirelessly, while striving for the best possible outcome in everything that she sets out to accomplish,” said Supervisor Kenneth Schmitt.

    “Carolyn has contributed countless hours to the Town of Mount Pleasant as past business owner, member of the Town’s Bicentennial Committee, Library Committee and founding member of the Thornwood/Hawthorne Chamber of Commerce. Her dedication to the Town of Mount Pleasant and its residents for close to fifty years is unparalleled.  We are thankful for her tireless efforts to provide service to our community,” said Supervisor Joan Maybury.

    “This is a women who has been pivotal in reviving our community. We are all indebted to her for all of her years of hard work and dedication,” said Putnam Legislator Dini LoBue of her nominee Kathleen Delamere. “Her commitment to historic preservation has made an impression on our community that will last for years to come.”

    The complete list of honorees from Thursday’s event:

    Beekman, Jane Straub

    Brewster, June Offermann

    Buchanan, Christine Metzger

    Carmel, Anne Pasquerello

    Leah Olsen, Cortlandt Manor

    Jeni Schutrick-Vitiello, Cortlandt

    Sue Vales, Lewisboro

    Lizann Hunter, Mount Kisco

    Carolyn Cosenza, Mount Pleasant

    Betsey Metz, New Castle

    Cheyanne Alberti, Patterson

    Veronica Daniels, Pawling

    Janice Molloy, Peekskill

    Kathleen Pacella, Somers

    Elizabeth Ryder, Southeast

    Denise Kness, Yorktown

    Meryl DiDio, Nominated by Legislator Roger Gross

    Tracy Griffin, Nominated by Senator Greg Ball

    Kathleen Delamere, Nominated by Legislator Dini LoBue

    For more information, please contact or (845) 531-9796