Senator Ranzenhofer Announces Town Halls to Discuss the 2009 State Budget


Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer has announced  Town Hall Meetings for Saturday, June 6 at the Clearfield Branch Library, 770 Hopkins Road in Amherst at 10:30 a.m and at the Genesee County Legislature, 7 Main Street in Batavia at Noon.  The Town Hall Meetings will give residents an opportunity to discuss the 2009 State Budget with Senator Ranzenhofer. 

“I voted NO on the State budget earlier this year because it eliminates the STAR rebate check program, increases spending by $12 Billion and imposes $2,400 in new costs for an average middle-class family.  With Western New Yorkers already struggling to cope with the national recession and hardworking families struggling to balance their own household budgets, the out-of-control spending and unnecessary tax and fee increases included in the State Budget could not have come at a worse time,” said Senator Ranzenhofer. 

Senator Ranzenhofer expressed his commitment to open, transparent State government. 

“The 2009 State Budget was crafted in secret by three New York City legislators with no input from the public or upstate lawmakers.  This past year’s budget process has been the most secretive in New York State’s history. Residents of the 61st Senate District deserve an open discussion with their elected officials regarding these important matters.  By working together, I am confident that we can protect hardworking taxpayers, restore fiscal responsibility to Albany and get our State headed back in the right direction again.  I strongly encourage residents to attend the Town Hall Meeting next Saturday.” 

The Town Hall Meeting is free and open to the public.  For more information, please contact Senator Ranzenhofer’s District Office by phone at (716) 631-8695. 

Senator Ranzenhofer was elected to the New York State Senate in 2008.  He represents the 61st State Senate District which includes part of the city of Tonawanda, the Towns of Amherst, Clarence, Newstead and Tonawanda in Erie County and all of Genesee County.


Other information