State Ophthalmological Society selects Ranzenhofer for 2012 Outstanding Legislator Award


The New York State Ophthalmological Society (NYSOS) has chosen State Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer as the recipient of the organization’s 2012 Outstanding Legislator Award.

The annual award acknowledges one State Senator and State Assembly member for utilizing the legislative process to impress upon others the importance of maintaining the highest quality of medical eye care as a means of protecting and promoting the ocular health and safety of their constituents and all New Yorkers. 

“It is both an honor and a privilege to be selected by the New York State Ophthalmological Society as the 2012 Outstanding Legislator in the State Senate for my commitment to the preservation of quality medical eye care for all New Yorkers,” said Senator Ranzenhofer.  “I want to extend my gratitude to the State Ophthalmological Society for recognizing my efforts in our State Capitol.”

“The NYS Ophthalmological Society recognizes and appreciates the thoughtful approach that Senator Ranzenhofer consistently takes when evaluating issues, and the role he plays as a true leader in the Senate,” said Ira J. Udell, MD, NYSOS President and Chairman, Ophthalmology Dept, North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System.

“Senator Ranzenhofer is to be commended for his diligence and hard work on behalf of the medical community, and for recognizing the extensive level of education, training and experience that eye physicians undergo in order to provide the highest level of patient care,” said Steven Awner, MD, NYSOS Past President and pediatric ophthalmologist in Amherst and Women and Children’s Hospital of Buffalo.

NYSOS inaugurated the Outstanding Legislator Award in 1995.  The organization represents the concerns of nearly 2000 ophthalmologists – eye physicians and surgeons – throughout the State.

Photo: Dr. Awner presented the award earlier this month to Senator Ranzenhofer at a meeting of the Buffalo Ophthalmological Society.  Pictured (from left to right) are Dr. Thomas Elmer, Senator Ranzenhofer, Dr. Awner, Dr. Robert Gormley and Dr. Paul Lee.