## 2011-J1523

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Monroe College Women's Basketball Team and Coach Seth Goodman upon the occasion of capturing the 2011 NJCAA Division II National Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary teams that have distinguished themselves through notable achievements and have represented the great Empire State with pride and determination; and

WHEREAS, Monroe College with campuses located in the Bronx and New Rochelle, New York, has come a long way since its founding in 1933 by Mildred King in the West Farms section of the Bronx; it started with seven women in four small classrooms, known then as the Monroe School of Business; and

WHEREAS, Monroe officially went from a business school to an accredited junior college in 1972 when it earned the right to grant associate degrees; in 1990, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education granted Monroe accreditation; and

WHEREAS, During this time, the name was changed from Monroe School of Business to Monroe College, and the school had also joined the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA); and

WHEREAS, On March 19, 2011, the Monroe College Lady Mustangs won the Division II NJCAA National Championship where they finished the season with a 29-5 record; ranked number 11 going into the tournament, the Lady Mustangs faced an undefeated top ranked Pima Community College (Pima, Arizona); the Monroe College Lady Mustangs beat them by a score of 78-74; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Seth Goodman, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Monroe College Women's Basketball Team,

from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Seth Goodman and the outstanding athletes on the Monroe College Women's Basketball Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, he it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Monroe College Women's Basketball Team; its members: April Williams, Bianca Lewis, Ramona Miles, Rahquana Dickerson, Simone Victor, Victoria Story, Ja'taeilah Forde (JT), Samantha Gillman, Alisha Steele, Kristal Edwards, Quamisha Lyles, Alexis Paige Sprewell, Jasmine Strong, Jessica Previlon and Shanee Williams; and Coach Seth Goodman on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Monroe College Women's Basketball Team and to Coach Seth Goodman.