2011-J2623

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating 23 elementary schools in the Bronx as recipients of the 2011 Excellence in School Wellness Award

WHEREAS, Excellence in health can only be achieved through a commitment to nutrition and physical activity and a partnership between principals, teachers, students and parents working together; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to honor these exemplary elementary schools in the Bronx that have distinguished themselves by their successes in promoting healthy habits as a primary part of their school culture; and

WHEREAS, The Bronx as a county has been determined New York State's unhealthiest county, according to a report introduced by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; these 23 Bronx elementary schools have made themselves an example of how other Bronx schools can fight childhood obesity and promote healthy habits; and

WHEREAS, The partnership between principals, teachers, students and parents is crucial in order to create healthier learning environments in school buildings, which can have a resounding impact, not only on these school environments, but also on Bronx households; and WHEREAS, The New York City Strategic Alliance for Health (SAfH), in conjunction with the Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr., announced they will honor 23 Bronx elementary schools as recipients of its 2011 Excellence in School Wellness Award on June 22, 2011; and WHEREAS, The commitment to physical fitness and nutrition in elementary schools at these 23 Bronx elementary schools should be celebrated for instilling healthy habits in children from a young age and for providing more information, resources and support for parents who are committed to maintaining healthy habits at home; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate 23 elementary schools in the Bronx as recipients of the 2011 Excellence in School Wellness Award: PS 55 - Benjamin Franklin Elementary School, PS 23 - The New Children's School, PS 85 - Great Expectations, PS 385 - Performance School, Rafael Hernandez Dual Language Magnet School, Sheridan Academy for Young Leaders, PS 69 - New Vision School, Mott Haven Academy Charter School and Icahn Charter School 4 for being Gold recipients; PS 43 - Jonas Bronck Elementary School, PS 130 - The Abram Stevens Hewitt School and PS 6 - The West Farms Public School for being Silver recipients; PS 32 -The Belmont School, PS 132 - Garrett A. Morgan Elementary School, PS 88 - The Sidney Silverstein Little Sparrow School, PS 28 - The Mount Hope School and PS 72 - Dr. William Dorney for being Bronze recipients; PS 103 - Hector Fontanez, PS 333 - The Museum School, PS 8 - The Isaac Varian School, PS 64 - Pura Belpre, PS/MS 95 - The Sheila Mencher Van Cortlandt School and PS 1 - Courtlandt School for receiving an Honorable Mention; its principals, teachers, students and parents; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to PS 55 - Benjamin Franklin Elementary School, PS 23 - The New Children's School, PS 85 - Great Expectations, PS 385 - Performance School, Rafael Hernandez Dual Language Magnet School, Sheridan Academy for Young Leaders, PS 69 - New Vision School, Mott Haven Academy Charter School, Icahn Charter School 4; PS 43 - Jonas Bronck Elementary School, PS 130 - The Abram Stevens Hewitt School, PS 6 - The West Farms Public School; PS 32 -The Belmont School, PS 132 - Garrett A. Morgan Elementary School, PS 88 - The Sidney Silverstein Little Sparrow School, PS 28 -The Mount Hope School; PS 72 - Dr. William Dorney; PS 103 - Hector Fontanez, PS 333 - The Museum School, PS 8 - The Isaac Varian School, PS

64 - Pura Belpre, PS/MS 95 - The Sheila Mencher Van Cortlandt School and PS 1 - Courtlandt School.