## 2021-K965

Assembly Resolution No. 965

BY: M. of A. Giglio JM

CONGRATULATING the St. Bonaventure University Men's Rugby Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2021 National Collegiate Rugby Division I Men's Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in college sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the St. Bonaventure University Men's Rugby Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2021 National Collegiate Rugby Division I Men's Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the top seeded Bonnies defeated number two seeded Penn State in a thrilling 19-18 victory to capture the Championship on Saturday, December 11, 2021, at AVEVA Stadium in Houston, Texas; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of brown and white, family, friends, and the community-at-large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Bonnies throughout their journey as they ended their fall season with an impressive 10-2 overall record; and WHEREAS, In a sport such as rugby, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Andrew Tui Osborne, Assistant Coach Danny Neighbour, and Graduate Assistant Coach Jack Wiles worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Tui Osborne and all of the outstanding athletes on the St. Bonaventure University Men's Rugby Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their university; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the St. Bonaventure University Men's Rugby Team: James Aitken, Rocco Arnold, Janniel Badeas, Ryan Bahret, Andrew Bigler, Mark Blum, Fielding Carlson, Eamon Carr, John Cepeda, Lucas Chirico, Jackson Chudzik, Alex Chura, Nicholas Codd, Matthew Conroy, Garrett Coolidge, Keelin Coyle, Carson Cross, Matthew Delach, Ethan Doumbe, Jarad Fonoti, Dylan Garra, Dean Gray, Reed Hammond, Ian Hanna, Will Hogan, Ultan Horrigan, Jordan Huges, Aidan Kotsch, Cooper Laczkowski, Patrick Mann, Terence Marten, Jack McCann, Casey McGlory, Sy

Mendenhall, John Milks, Jacob Miller, Julian Morales, Lukas Otineru, Niku Otineru, Trent Paddock, Juan Pen, Matt Pietch Jr., Sebastian Pitt, Cory Ratka, Jace Rodriguez, Ricky Rose, Dominico Sassano, James Schmitt, Adarshpal Singh, Taman Singh, Josh Smith, Lucas Smith, Greg Steffens, Kye Terry, Evan Tillinghast, Lorenzo Villani, Sebastiano Villani, Dylan Walsh, and Matt Wing; Head Coach, Andrew Tui Osborne; Assistant Coach, Danny Neighbour; and Graduate Assistant Coach, Jack Wiles upon the occasion of capturing the 2021 National Collegiate Rugby Division I Men's Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the St. Bonaventure University Men's Rugby Team, Head Coach Andrew Tui Osborne, Assistant Coach Danny Neighbour, and Graduate Assistant Coach Jack Wiles.