Senator Owen H. Johnson was pleased to join Nancy Donohue and her family at an annual meeting of the Sagtikos Manor Historical Society to honor her and acknowledge her many accomplishments as President of the organization. The event took place at Captain Bill's Restaurant in Bay Shore on January 23, 2010.
Thomas F. Roberts III, founding President of the Fire Island Lighthouse Preservation Society, was honored with a New York Senate Proclamation by Senator Owen H. Johnson at the Fire Island Lighthouse Keeper’s Quarters on Saturday, December 3, 2011. Senator Johnson joined with the Board of Directors of the Fire Island Lighthouse Preservation Society, Inc. in recognizing Tom Roberts and other individuals who volunteered their time or contributed to the organization and the Fire Island Lighthouse.
Senator Owen H. Johnson joined Assemblyman Phil Boyle in presenting a Legislative Resolution to Monsignor Christopher Heller on June 3, 2012 celebrating the 100th Anniversary of the construction of St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church at 39 North Carll Avenue in Babylon Village.The groundbreaking for St. Joseph Church was on June 25, 1911. The Romanesque design is based on the Church of San Stefano in Bologna, Italy. At the time, St. Joseph Church was the only church of its kind in the United Stated because of its unique all-brick structure. The architects were Reiley and Steinback of New York, and the builder was John Cockerill of North Babylon who also built the Museum of Natural History in Manhattan.