Name of Event: New York State Safe Boating Class - East Islip
Description: According to the new Suffolk County law, this class is required for anyone who wishes to operate personal watercraft or a boat. Upon completion of this 8 hour class and passing a written exam, students will receive a temporary certification card. You must attend all three courses to obtain a certificate.
$20 MILLION IN GRANTS TO SANDY-IMPACTED FISHING INDUSTRYGovernor Andrew M. Cuomo today urged coastal fishing businesses harmed by Storm Sandy to apply for available funding through the State’s recently approved Coastal Fishing Industry Grant Program. Under the program, eligible businesses will be able to apply for grants of up to $50,000 to cover uncompensated losses. “The regions most devastated by Superstorm Sandy are also vital parts of our state’s fishing industry, supporting thousands of local jobs and generating billions in economic activity,” Governor Cuomo said. “With peak fishing season arriving, I am directing new federal funds to support this critical industry on Long Island and Staten Island as it works to reach full recovery.”
The New York State Senate today passed a bill toughening the penalties for leaving the scene of a boating accident without making a report. The bill (S.339) is in response to serious boating accidents that have happened in recent years. The bill would increase the penalty to an A misdemeanor for a first offense of leaving the scene of a boating accident when a person knows or should know there has been an injury to another person. A second offense within five years of the first offense would be a felony. The bill also would stiffen the penalties for the crime of leaving the scene of a boating accident, that resulted in property damage, without reporting it. The bill has been sent to the Assembly.