Senator Simcha Felder (D-Brooklyn), a first-term Senator and Chair of the Subcommittee on New York City Education, had two bills signed into law last Thursday by Governor Cuomo.
“It is extremely gratifying that Governor Cuomo saw the necessity for and value of these bills,” said Senator Felder. “I am thankful to my colleagues and to all those who worked behind the scenes to help make these bills a reality.”
The first of Senator Felder’s bills, S5730-2013, excludes Saturdays from being considered a business day for purposes of responding to violations for defective motor vehicle equipment.
Previously, the law encouraged timely repairs by offering a full waiver of the fine if repairs were made within one business day, excluding Sundays and federal holidays. This meant that a Sabbath-observant individual who received a summons late Friday afternoon, and could not make the necessary repairs until Sunday, was unable to take advantage of the grace period. Senator Felder’s measure remedies this oversight.
“This legislation levels the playing field and allows all New Yorkers to benefit equally from the grace period,” Senator Felder said. “Sabbath-observant New Yorkers no longer have to choose between their religious observance and the dismissal of a ticket.”
Senator Simcha Felder (D-Brooklyn) is warning motorists to be extra cautious while driving and to avoid texting behind the wheel. As of June 1, tougher penalties were implemented by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at the direction of Governor Cuomo. The DMV has increased the number of points earned against an individual’s driving record to five points upon conviction for texting-while-driving and cell-phone related infractions.
“Distracted driving is dangerous driving,” said Senator Felder. “It’s not just your life you take into your hands when you get behind the wheel; it’s the lives of your fellow motorists and pedestrians. One out of every five crashes in New York State is a result of distracted driving.”
Felder is sounding the alarm after receiving calls from constituents who were pulled over for texting-while-driving and received a five-point penalty on their license. New York State and local police have increased enforcement of the texting-while-driving ban on roads across the State. For a first offense, the minimum fine is $50 and the maximum fine increases to $400 for a third or subsequent offense.