Q. I own more than one residential property.
Can I receive the STAR exemption on all my
residences?

A. No. The STAR exemption can be applied only to

your primary residence.

Q. Where do I file the application?

A. With your local assessor.

Q. Do I have to prove my age?
A. Senior citizens applying for the Enhanced sSTAR must
supply proof of age with their initial STAR application.

Q. What is meant by “primary residence?”

A. There is no single factor that determines whether
a property is your primary residence, but factors such
as voting, vehicle registrations, and length of time
spent each year on the property may be relevant.
Your local assessor may ask you to provide proof of
residency with the application. In addition, the asses-
sor may occasionally request proof of residency after
the exemption has been granted to verify that the

property remains your primary residence.

Q. What if part of my property is used for other
than residential purposes?

A. If the property is an eligible type of property,

such as a one-, two-, or three-family home, and is the
owner’s primary residence, it may still be eligible to
receive the exemption if the non-residential use is
incidental. It is the responsibility of the local assessor

to make this determination.

Q. Do I receive a notice if I am denied the sSTAR
exemption?

A. Yes. Assessors are required by law to notify ap-
plicants if their STAR application has been denied at
least 1o days prior to the date for hearing complaints

in relation to assessments.

Q. Is there a deadline by which I must file the
application?
A. Yes. In most areas the deadline is March 1st. You

should contact your local assessor to be sure.

Q. By what date must I turn 65 to receive the En-
hanced STAR exemption?

A. You may apply for the Enhanced STAR in the year
you turn 65. You do not have to wait until your birth-
day. Remember, for property owned by a husband and
wife, or by siblings, only one of them has to be at least
65 years old as of December 31 of the year in which the

exemption will begin.

Q. Do I have to prove my income for Enhanced
STAR?

A. Yes, if you have not already applied for the automatic
income verification program. Remember, for property
owned by more than one person, the combined annual

income must be no greater than $79,050.

Q. I am a senior citizen whose income exceeds
$79,050. Can I still receive the Basic STAR
exemption?

A. Of course. And like other Basic STAR recipients, as
long as you’ve been receiving Basic STAR in previous
years on your home, you won’t need to reapply unless

you move.

Q. What if I buy a new home?
A. Your STAR exemption is not transferred automati-
cally. You will have to apply for the exemption on your

new primary residence.
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For more information about the STAR
program, please visit the New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance’s
website at: www.tax.ny.gov
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Q. What is STAR?

A. The School Tax Relief Program, or STAR, was sponsored
by the New York State Senate to provide a partial exemption

from school property taxes for New York State residents who

own homes.

Q. Who benefits from the STAR program?

A. STAR benefits all of us by:

» making home ownership more affordable for New
York State residents;

> helping senior citizens stay in their homes and
their communities;

> helping taxpayers better understand their prop-
erty tax bills; and

> reimbursing schools dollar for dollar to ensure

quality education programs.

Q. How does STAR work?

A. There are two parts to the STAR program:

Basic STAR is available to all New Yorkers with an
income of $500,000 or less, who own and live in
their one-, two- or three-family home, condominium,
cooperative apartment, mobile home or farm home.
Basic STAR works by exempting $30,000 of the full
value of a home from school taxes.

Enhanced STAR is available to senior citizens (age 65 and
older) who meet the income requirements. For qualify-
ing seniors, Enhanced STAR exempts $62,200 of the full
value of their primary residence. For property owned by
a husband and wife, or by siblings, only one of them must
be at least 65 years of age to qualify for Enhanced STAR.

Q. What is the income requirement for Enhanced
STAR?

A. The Enhanced STAR plan for seniors automatically
adjusts income limits based on the annual federal Social
Security cost-of-living adjustment (corLA). The current
income limit is $79,050, and it will continue to increase
at the same rate as COLA. The STAR income eligibility
limit will never decrease. If the annual Social Security
COLA is ever a negative amount, the STAR coLA will
remain at the previous year’s level.

Income is defined as your federal “adjusted gross
income” minus the “taxable amount” of total distribu-
tions from individual retirement accounts or individual
retirement annuities (IRAs). Eligibility in 2012 is based

on income information from the 2010 tax year.

OPTION 2: STAR Income Verification Program. Sup-
ply your Social Security Number(s) and authorize the
New York State Department of Taxation and Finance to
verify your income eligibility each year. If you choose
this option, you do not need to submit an application
and copy of your tax return(s) to the assessor every

year. To choose this option, in the initial year you must
complete form RP-425-1VP and submit it to the assessor
along with a traditional STAR application and the neces-

sary income tax return(s) by the application deadline.

Q. How do I get my Basic STAR tax cut?

A. You must file an application with your local assessor.

Q. Where do I get the STAR application?

A. The application form, RP-425, is available from your
local assessor. The address and telephone number of
your local assessor can be found in the “Blue Pages”

of your local phone book. The application can also be
found on the New York State Department of Taxation

and Finance’s website at: www.tax.ny.gov.

Q. Does the STAR exemption apply to all taxes on my
property?

A. The STAR exemption applies only to school district
taxes. It does not apply to other property taxes such as

county, town or city.

Q. How do I get my Enhanced STAR tax cut?

A. You must file an application with your local assessor.
Senior citizens applying for the Enhanced STAR exemp-
tion must demonstrate that the combined income of
all of the owners of the property, and of any owner’s
spouse who resides on the premises, is no greater than
the income standard for the applicable income tax year.
You may do this in one of two ways:

OPTION 1: Traditional method. Submit a copy of your
income tax return(s) for the appropriate income tax
year to the assessor with your STAR application by the

application deadline each year.

Q. How will I know how much my STAR exemption is
worth in tax dollars?

A. Along with unprecedented savings, the STAR program
created a Property Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights which aims to
keep property owners more informed than ever about their
taxes. As a key component of the STAR program, your school
tax bill (or other “Bill of Rights” notice) clearly states the
amount of the STAR exemption and your tax savings.

Other information now included on your tax bill:

» the market value of your property;

» the percent of market value used in assessing property in

your community;

» the total tax levy and percent change from the
prior year;

» how to challenge your assessment if you believe it
is too high;

» the uniform percentage of value being used in the
assessing unit; and

» the full value of each property.

Property owners can also use this information to help

decide whether their properties are being assessed

fairly and correctly.

Q. If my mortgage is in an escrow account, when
will I see my STAR tax reduction?

A. Mortgage institutions are required to reduce a ho-
meowner’s escrow account within one month of no-
tification that the homeowner has received the STAR
exemption. Mortgage institutions are not allowed to

charge any additional fees for this adjustment.

Q. What types of properties are eligible for the
STAR tax cuts?

A. STAR will reduce school property taxes on your
primary residence only. To be eligible for either the
Basic or Enhanced STAR tax cut, you must own and
live in a one-, two-, or three-family home, condo-
minium, mobile home, cooperative apartment, or

farm home.

[MORE QUESTIONS ANSWERED ON
REVERSE]



