

Below is a list of the 57 fees repealed in the 2015-2016 State Budget

Department of State: Three fees will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$2.6 million annually beginning in 2015-16.

- <u>Apartment Information Vendor License Fee:</u> This is a \$400 annual fee charged for the licensure of apartment information vendors.
- <u>Biennial Statement Filing Fee:</u> This is a \$9 filing fee collected at the time of filing biennial statement amendments.
- <u>Cease and Desist List License Fee:</u> This \$10 regulatory fee is collected from persons who wish to be added to the Cease and Desist List which prohibits real estate licensees from contacting or soliciting them.

Department of Labor: A total of 30 fees will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$243,000 annually beginning in 2015-16.

- <u>Antique Boiler Inspection Fees (2):</u> These are \$25 fees charged to the owners of antique steam engines and other boilers which must be inspected both internally and externally on an annual basis.
- <u>Biennial Statement Filing Fee:</u> This is a \$9 filing fee collected at the time of filing corporate biennial information statements. The information will instead be included on the corporate tax return.
- <u>Boiler Shop Survey Fee:</u> This is a \$600 regulatory fee charged every three years to boiler manufacturers and repairers upon submission to DOL of the required plan detailing their quality control system.
- <u>Building Plans Exam Fee:</u> This is a \$200 fee charged to property owners or contractors who submit plans to DOL for review and approval to build or alter a place of public assembly. The fee is based on the cost of the project with a maximum charge of \$200.
- <u>Commissary Operator Permit Fee:</u> This is a \$40 fee charged to commissary operators who apply for a one year permit to operate a commissary that serves migrant farm workers at the camp or processing plant where they are employed.
- <u>Day of Rest Easement Application Fee:</u> This is a \$40 fee charged to employers that apply for up to a one year exemption from the day of rest statute, which requires employees be given one 24 hour period off from work in each calendar week.
- <u>Defense Dispensation Fee:</u> This \$40 fee is charged to defense contractors and canneries that apply for a dispensation from certain provisions of the Labor Law.
- <u>Farm Grower Permit Fee:</u> This is a \$40 fee charged to agriculture growers who apply for a one year permit which allows the grower to employ more than five non-H2A

migrant farm workers.

- <u>Farm Labor Contractor Permit Fee:</u> This is a \$200 fee charged to farm labor contractors that apply for a one year permit to transport and provide non-H2A migrant farm workers to a grower.
- <u>Industrial Homework Certificates Employer Application Fee:</u> This is a \$100 fee charged to manufacturers who apply for a one year permit that allows the manufacturer to distribute unfinished material, such as clothing or jewelry, to employees for completion at their homes.
- <u>Industrial Homework Certificates Homeworker Application Fee:</u> This is a \$25 fee charged to individuals who apply for a one year permit which enables the individual to accept and perform industrial work in their homes.
- <u>Laser Regulation Permit Fee:</u> This is a \$600 regulatory fee charged every three years to organizations that operate lasers, upon registration of mobile lasers and laser installations with DOL.
- <u>Miniature Boiler Inspection Fee:</u> This is a \$50 fee charged to the owners of miniature boilers which must be inspected annually.
- <u>Professional Employer Organization Exemption Fee:</u> This is a \$250 fee charged to professional employer organizations annually that are already licensed in another state. The organization must have no office and less than 25 employees in New York to qualify for this exemption.
- <u>Professional Employer Organization Initial Registration and Renewal Fees (2):</u> This is a \$1,000 initial registration fee charged to professional employer organizations to allow the leasing of employees to businesses in New York. An additional \$500 renewal fee is charged annually.
- <u>Scaffold Plan Examination Fee:</u> This is a \$1,000 regulatory fee charged to businesses for each required submission of detailed scaffold equipment plans that will be used to perform work on buildings taller than 75 feet. DOL reviews the plans to ensure the safety of the equipment.
- <u>Ski Tows and Passenger Tramways Fees (2):</u> These \$50 (ski tow) and \$100 (ski lift) regulatory fees are charged to ski areas and other passenger tramway operators at the time of the annual DOL inspection.
- <u>Slot Machine Repair License Fees (2)</u>: These fees are charged to approved apprenticeship training programs that possess slot machines for training purposes. These programs must seek a permit from DOL and pay a \$500 fee per machine and an additional \$100 fee per trainee every six months.
- Workplace Safety and Loss Certification Application Fee: This is a \$1,000 fee charged to individuals who apply and are certified to conduct workplace safety and loss prevention consultations. Fees are lower when multiple individuals apply.
- Workplace Safety and Loss DOL Consultation Fee: This is a \$350 fee charged to clients who receive a workplace safety and loss prevention consultation from DOL staff.
- Workplace Safety and Loss Incentive Application and Renewal Fees (2): This is a \$100 regulatory fee charged to individuals or businesses who apply for certification as a workplace safety and loss prevention management specialist and work with employers to reduce workers compensation costs by implementing safety and health, return to work, and/or drug and alcohol prevention programs. The fee is assessed per program for a maximum of \$300 per individual applicant. A \$100 renewal application fee is charged

per program every three years for a maximum of \$300.

- Workplace Safety and Loss Recertification Application Fee: This is a \$300 regulatory recertification fee charged every three years to individuals certified to conduct workplace safety and loss prevention consultations. Fees are lower when multiple individuals apply.
- Workplace Safety and Loss Specialist Certification and Recertification Fees (2): This is an \$800 fee charged to individuals who receive certification as a workplace safety and loss prevention management specialist. A \$600 recertification fee is charged every three years with \$100 charged for each additional recertification. Fees are lower when multiple individuals apply.
- Written Assurances Fee: This is a \$100 fee charged to apparel industry manufacturers or contractors when they apply for a one year written assurance from DOL that a subcontractor has complied with certain requirements of the Labor Law.

Workers' Compensation Board: A total of 12 fees will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$95,000 annually beginning in 2015-16.

- <u>Chiropractic Arbitration Request Fee:</u> This is a \$5 fee paid by a service provider related to any chiropractic dispute or arbitration of a bill handled by the Board.
- <u>Claimant's Representative License Fee:</u> This is a \$100 fee paid by individuals who are licensed with the WCB and represent claimants before the Board.
- <u>Hospital Arbitration Request Fee:</u> This is a \$5 fee paid by a service provider related to any hospital dispute or arbitration of a bill handled by the Board.
- <u>Medical Arbitration Request Fee:</u> This is a \$5 fee paid by a service provider for any medical dispute or arbitration of a bill handled by the Board.
- <u>Medical Center Authorization License Fee:</u> This is a \$200 license fee for compensation medical bureaus operated by qualified physicians for the diagnosis and treatment of industrial injuries or illnesses.
- <u>Medical / X-Ray Bureau Authorization License Fee:</u> This is a \$200 license fee paid by compensation medical bureaus operated by qualified physicians for the diagnosis and treatment of industrial injuries or illnesses.
- <u>Podiatry Arbitration Request Fee:</u> This is a \$5 fee paid by a service provider related to any podiatry dispute or arbitration of a bill handled by the Board.
- <u>Psychology Arbitration Request Fee:</u> This is a \$5 fee paid by a service provider related to any psychology dispute or arbitration of a bill handled by the Board.
- <u>Publication Fee:</u> This is a \$5 regulatory fee for purchasing Board publications.
- <u>Self Insurer's Representative License Fee:</u> This is a \$100 license fee paid by a third party administrator and/or self-insured employer. These entities represent employers at Board hearings.
- Subpoena Fee: This is a \$15 regulatory fee for subpoenas to obtain Board documents.
- X-Ray Laboratory Authorization License Fee: This is a \$5 license fee paid for a separate laboratory to engage in X-ray diagnosis or treatment of an injured worker.

Department of Agriculture and Markets: Ten fees will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$40,000 annually beginning in 2015-16.

- <u>Commercial Feed License Fee:</u> This \$100 license fee is collected from manufacturers of commercial feed on an annual basis.
- Commercial Feed Tonnage Fee: This \$0.10 per ton license fee that is collected annually

from commercial feed distributors was amended to establish a minimum reporting requirement. Commercial distributors will be relieved from the nuisance of paying a small annual fee when handling commercial feed of 100 tons or less per year.

- <u>Farm Product Dealer's License Fee:</u> This \$20 license fee is collected annually from farm product dealers.
- <u>Food Salvage Fee</u>: This \$100 license fee is collected from food salvage dealers every two years.
- <u>Liming Brands License Fee:</u> This \$40 license fee is collected from suppliers of liming materials every two years.
- <u>Refrigerated Warehouse Fee:</u> This \$200 license fee is collected from refrigerated warehouses every two years.
- <u>Rendering Transportation Fee:</u> This license fee is collected from rendering (i.e. animal remains) transportation facilities on an annual basis. The fee amount is \$25 per service and \$10 per vehicle.
- Rendering Plants Fee: This license fee is collected from operators of disposal plants on an annual basis. The annual license fee for disposal plants is \$100, plus an inspection fee of \$10 for each vehicle. The annual license fee for transportation services is \$25, plus an inspection fee of \$10 for each vehicle.
- <u>Seed Potato Inspection Fee:</u> This regulatory fee of \$34 is collected annually for the inspection of both seed potato plants and seed potato tubers for the NY Seed Improvement Project.
- <u>Soil and Plant Inoculants Fee:</u> This \$20 license fee is collected every two years for the purpose of selling product brands which contain microorganisms for inoculation purposes.

Department of Transportation: One fee will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$40,000 annually beginning in 2015-16.

• <u>Intrastate Authority Application Fee:</u> This is a one-time \$50 fee paid by new trucking companies, movers, ambulette providers and charter bus operators when applying for certificates or permits.

Department of Environmental Conservation: One fee will be repealed, saving New Yorkers \$1,000 annually beginning in 2015-16.

• <u>Flood Control Permit Fee:</u> This is a \$25 regulatory fee that is levied upon application of a permit to determine if the proposed activity will impair the operation of flood control works or impede the maintenance thereof, including access for operation and maintenance.