BE INVOLVED WITH YOUR
CHWLD'S EDUCATION
One of the best ways to get involved
with your child’s school is to join
the Parent-Teacher Association or
Organization (PTA/PTO). To find out
more information, talk to your child’s
teacher or visit the PTA online at
www.nyspta.org.
Read to your children at home
every night, and encourage them to
read to you. Ask about the
Parents As Reading Partners
(PARP) Program to find out if your
child’s school participates.
Acknowledge and reward children for
their successes and accomplishments.
Get to know their teachers and
their daily schedule.
Be a part of their nightly home-
work; help where you can and be
encouraging.
Look into your child’s after school
programs and activities.
If you have any questions regarding the
education system in New York State,
or concerns regarding your School
Board, contact the State Education
Department at (518) 474-3852 or visit
them on-line at www.nysed.gov.

PENALTIES FOR
PASSING A STOPPED
SCHOOL BUS

There are many good reasons for stopping when a school bus is
flashing its red lights—including avoiding stiff fines or possible
jail sentences. But the best reason is that using caution near
stopped school buses can help protect the safety of our children.

Drivers should slow down when they see a school bus with
flashing yellow lights. State law requires drivers to stop when
the red lights on a school bus are flashing, even if the bus is in
the parking lot of a school. If the school bus driver waves you
on, it is safe to proceed.

When going in the opposite direction, drivers should stop
at least 20 feet from a school bus to allow children to cross the
road safely. Drivers who fail to stop when a school bus has its
red lights on face costly penalties and can even land in jail.

@® A first conviction carries a fine of between $250 and
$400, a jail sentence of up to 30 days, or both.

@® A second conviction within three years carries an in-
creased fine of between $600 and $750, a jail sentence
of up to 180 days, or both.

® A third or subsequent conviction within three years
carries penalties that include a fine of between $750 and
$1,000, a jail sentence of up to 180 days, or both. In addi-
tion, if you are convicted of three violations in three years,
your license will be revoked for a minimum of six months.

Drivers should remember that a conviction for passing a stopped

school bus is a moving traffic violation that adds points to your

license, can increase your insurance costs and may even jeopar-
dize your driving privileges.
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PARENTS: WATCH 012 SIGNS
OfF BULLYING

Cyberbullying and other forms of bullying pose a serious risk to school safety and educational success for all
children. Every student needs to feel safe in order to maximize his or her academic and social potential. Children
cannot succeed when they fear for their safety at school, worry about being bullied or cyberbullied, or suffer
discrimination and taunts because of their ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, disability or any other reason.
New York State has taken a strong stance against bullying in order to protect kids and help create an
environment in which they feel safe and can thrive. Current state law:

» Directs school districts to develop procedures which create a school environment free of discrimination and
harassment. L

> Establishes guidelines for development
of nondiscriminatory instructional and
counseling methods and requires that
school staff be trained to handle human
relations.

» Along with the State Education Depart-
ment, provides grants to local school |
districts to assist them in implementing |
anti-bullying programs. |

» Requires that schools take action when
students experience cyberbullying, |
harassment, bullying or discrimina-
tion by immediately seeking to end the
harmful behavior, prevent recurrence
and ensure the safety of the targeted
students.

» Establishes training to strengthen the ability of teachers and administrators to prevent and respond to acts of
bullying and cyberbullying.

DO YOU KNOwW ABOUT THE 529 DIRECT PLAN?

New York’s 529 College Savings Program offers New Yorkers the chance to place tax-
free and tax-deductible investments into an account that can be used to pay for tuition,

room and board, fees, books, and supplies at any eligible post-secondary school in the
U.S. and abroad.

For more information, contact my office to request a copy of the brochure,
“Helping New Yorkers Pay for College.” Or you can contact the plan directly at
www.nysaves.com or call 1-877-NYSAVES (1-877-697-2837). #576 7/2013




HE Avy BACK’ PACK ag C A N Multiple compartments which can also

help distribute the weight more evenly.

POSE A HEALTH RISK TO
YOUR CHILD

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
recommends that parents look for the following
when choosing the right backpack.
A lightweight pack that doesnt add a lot of
weight to your child’s load. For example, even
though leather packs look cool, they weigh
more than traditional canvas backpacks.

Two wide, padded shoulder straps:

th o
SUs Lnadire f00 BEEg v ca R CIEINLD Although packs on wheels (which look like small,

shanlcers. overhead luggage bags) may be good options for
A padded back which not only provides in- students, they’re extremely difficult to pull up
creased comfort, but also protects kids from stairs and to roll through snow. Check with the
being poked by sharp edges on objects (pen- school before buying a rolling pack; many schools
cils, rulers, notebooks, etc.) inside the pack. don’t allow them because they can pose a tripping

A waist belt which helps to distribute the SR L i

weight more evenly across the body.




