19 Jan 2023

Joint – Public Hearing: To examine the legislative and budgetary actions necessary to implement the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan

Hearing Room A
10:00 AM Archived Video
Add to Calendar 01/19/202310:00 AM 01/19/202310:00 AM America/New_York Joint – Public Hearing: To examine the legislative and budgetary actions necessary to implement the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan MM/DD/YYYY NY STATE SENATE content@senate.state.ny.us

Joint – Senate Standing Committee on Finance
Chair: Senator Liz Krueger
Senate Standing Committee on Energy And Telecommunications
Chair: Senator Kevin S. Parker
and Senate Standing Committee on Environmental Conservation
Chair: Senator Pete Harckham
Public Hearing: To examine the legislative and budgetary actions necessary to implement the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan
Place: Legislative Office Building,  Hearing Room A,  Albany, NY
Time: 10:00 A.M.
Contact: Justin Flagg (212) 490-9535
Senate Majority Press Office (518) 455-2415



SUBJECT:      Implementation of the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan

PURPOSE:     To examine the legislative and budgetary actions necessary to implement the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan

Pursuant to the Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act (CLCPA) passed in 2019, in December the New York State Climate Action Council released their Final Scoping Plan. The Scoping Plan serves as the framework for how the State will reduce greenhouse gas emissions and achieve net-zero emissions, increase renewable energy usage, and ensure climate justice, in line with the mandates of the CLCPA. The Plan affects all sectors of the State’s economy and society, and as such will have significant budgetary and legislative implications. 

The Senate Committees on Finance, Energy and Telecommunications, and Environmental Conservation are seeking testimony relating to budgetary and legislative action necessary to implement the Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act and the Climate Action Council Final Scoping Plan. 

Due to time constraints, oral testimony is by invitation only. Oral testimony will be limited to 3 minutes’ duration. Testifying witnesses are required to send a copy of their written testimony via email no later than 5pm on Tuesday, January 17th to financechair@nysenate.gov. No PowerPoint presentations, signs, placards, or other visual aids are permitted during testimony or in the hearing room. 

Any person or entity is permitted – and indeed encouraged – to submit written testimony. Written testimony must be submitted no later than 5 p.m. on the day of the hearing to financechair@nysenate.gov. 

Witnesses are strongly encouraged to summarize their key points in their oral testimony, and not simply read from their written testimony. Witnesses must limit their oral testimony to no more than three minutes, after which time they should be prepared to entertain questions from legislators. 

In order to meet the needs of those who may have a disability, the Senate, in accordance with its policy of non-discrimination on the basis of disability, as well as the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), has made its facilities and services available to all individuals with disabilities. For individuals with disabilities, accommodations will be provided, upon reasonable request, to afford such individuals access and admission to Senate facilities and activities.

PDF icon Witness List PDF icon Avrielle Miller, NY Renews PDF icon Betta Broad, Association for Energy Affordability PDF icon Blair Horner, Written Testimony PDF icon Bob Cohen, Citizen Action of New York PDF icon Brian Schultz, New York Public Transit Association PDF icon Celeste Perez, NYC Environmental Justice Alliance PDF icon Christopher Casey, National Resources Defense Council PDF icon Dawn Wells-Clyburn, PUSH Buffalo PDF icon Divya Subramanian, Invest NYC SDG PDF icon Donna DeCarolis, National Fuel Gas Distribution Company PDF icon Elena Weissmann, Vote Solar PDF icon Elizabeth Moran, Earthjustice PDF icon Floyd Vergara, Clean Fuels Alliance America PDF icon Gavin J. Donohue, Independent Power Producers of New York PDF icon Greg Todd, North Country Compost PDF icon Jackie Weisberg PDF icon James E. Hanley, Empire Center for Public Policy PDF icon Jennifer Geiger PDF icon Jessica Azulay, Alliance for a Green Economy PDF icon John Bartow, Empire State Forest Products Association PDF icon Judith Enck, Beyond Plastics PDF icon Christopher Raup, Con Edison PDF icon Klaus Proemm, Village of Canton, NY PDF icon Margaret H. Reilly PDF icon Mario Cilento, NYS AFL-CIO PDF icon Mark Dunlea, Green Education and Legal Fund PDF icon Michael Giaimo, American Petroleum Institute PDF icon Mikaela Perry, American Farmland Trust PDF icon Patrick McClellan, New York League of Conservation Voters PDF icon Raya Salter, Energy Justice Law and Policy Center PDF icon Raziq Seabrook, National Grid PDF icon Real Estate Board of New York PDF icon Reyna Cohen, ALIGN PDF icon Robert Ciesielski, Sierra Club Atlantic Chapter PDF icon Robert Howarth, Cornell University PDF icon Rocco Lacertosa, New York State Energy Coalition PDF icon Sonal Jessel, WE ACT for Environmental Justice PDF icon Victor Davila, The Point CDC PDF icon Roger Caiazza PDF icon Ken Pokalsky, The Business Council PDF icon Deane A Rios Gomez, Atlantic Climate Justice Alliance PDF icon Brett Barry, Clean Energy PDF icon Mary Barber, Environmental Defense Fund PDF icon Emily Kelly, ChargePoint PDF icon Andrew Engel, Sunrise Movement NYC PDF icon Eric Siy, Lake George Association PDF icon Lisa Tyson, Long Island Progressive Coalition PDF icon Flandersia Jones, New York State Nurses Association PDF icon Niagara County Legislature PDF icon Scott DeFife, Glass Packaging Institute PDF icon Rohit Aggarwala, NYC Department of Environmental Protection PDF icon Anthony Willingham, Electrify America PDF icon New York State Association of Counties PDF icon New York State Association for Solid Waste Management PDF icon Natalie Bump Vena et al PDF icon Kate Kremer PDF icon Michael Hernandez, Rewiring America PDF icon Allen Blair PDF icon David Barnard PDF icon Zachary Kahn, Tesla PDF icon Hennessy Garcia, Sixth Street Community Center PDF icon Vanessa Agudelo, Westchester Alliance for Sustainable Solutions PDF icon Peter Bardaglio, Tompkins County Climate Protection Initiative PDF icon Jeff Williams, New York Farm Bureau PDF icon Sheridan Hollow Alliance for Renewable Energy PDF icon Michael P. Washburn, The Recycling Partnership PDF icon Zack Dufresne, New York Solar Energy Industries Association PDF icon Clean Cities Coalition of New York PDF icon Elizabeth Adams, Transportation Alternatives PDF icon Keith Schue, New York Energy & Climate Advocates PDF icon Marc Weiss, NY Renews PDF icon Sharon Silbermann, Manhattan Solid Waste Advisory Board PDF icon Stevan Marcus, Citizens Budget Commission PDF icon Members of the Scientific Community PDF icon Trip Oliver, Air Products and Chemicals Inc PDF icon Joe Benedict, Western New York Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors PDF icon Allison Allen PDF icon Eric Steiner, American Forest & Paper Association PDF icon Sean Williams, Airlines for America PDF icon Sara S. Gronim, 350Brooklyn PDF icon Dana Adams, Coalition for Renewable Natural Gas PDF icon Angela Kent, Advanced Energy United PDF icon CURES PDF icon Anne Reynolds, Alliance or Clean Energy New York PDF icon Anthony Rogers-Wright, New York Lawyers for the Public Interest PDF icon Keith Kinch, BlocPower PDF icon Laurie Wheelock, Public Utility Law Project

past Finance committee events

Finance Committee

Standing Committee

How a Bill Becomes Law

Learn More