Congratulating the 2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction

download pdf

Sponsored By


view additional co-sponsors



LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the 2014 New York State Senate
Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and
celebrate Women of Distinction who significantly add inspiration and
encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and
WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of Distinction program was
created in 1998 as part of our state celebration of Women's History
Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular
professional or personal achievements, commitment to excellence and
accomplishments merit special recognition; honorees are selected from
nominations submitted from across the state; and
WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have
made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects of
society; and
WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to
individuals of remarkable character, who have shown initiative and
commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves as well as
acting as role models to all women in their community; and
WHEREAS, The New York State Senate takes this opportunity to congratu-
late Gail Adamoschek, Seema Agnani, Patricia Aitken, Jessica A. Allen,
Gloria Alston, Sister Marie Antoinette, Jane Backus, Mary Alice Bellar-
dini, Marissa Bernowitz, Deanna Alterio Brennan, Susan K. Brown, PhD,
Danielle Butin, Dorothy Button, Anna Cali, Fortuna Calvo-Roth, Bettye
Canestaro, Andrea Curran, Lakia T. Echols, Georgina Falu, PhD, Kristine
B. Giotto, Constance Glasgow, MD, Carin Guarasci, Adjoa Esinam Gzifa,
Alyce Ingram, Indu Jaiswal, Diane Kuppermann, Sung Eun Grace Lee
(posthumously), Helene S. Leonardi, Cindy Abbott Letro, Debra Liegl,
Michelle McClymont, Sheila Meegan, Julie Menin, Hazel Miura, Judith
O'Rourke, Elizabeth R. OuYang, Filomena Piscitelli, The Honorable A.
Gail Prudenti, Josephine Pucci, Marisa Redanty, Theresa M. Reichel, Lee
Roberts, Beatrice Ruberto, Meghan Izzo Russo, Mary Anne Sears, Shirley
Seney, Esmeralda Simmons, Pat Singer, Margaret Skinner, Luader Smith,
Lauren R. Snyder, Geri Spino, Barbara Sush, Alana Sweeny, Irma Waldo,
MD, Rose Marie Walker, Mary Whittier, Patricia Williams, Judy Zangwill
as 2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction, to be celebrated on
Tuesday, May 13, 2014, at the Annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremo-
ny in The Well of the Legislative Office Building; and
WHEREAS, Women have become part of New York's lasting heritage by
fighting against stereotypes, prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable
obstacles; and
WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to
the present day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role
in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and
quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and
WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to be, the home to
many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers
in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to
succeed; and
WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the
home to countless women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to
the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to
add to the advancement of our culture through their traditional and
non-traditional roles in society; and
WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who
enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a
long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the

recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State;
now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to
congratulate the 2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and be
it further
RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.


  • 08 / May / 2014
  • 13 / May / 2014
  • 13 / May / 2014

Resolution Details

Law Section:
Resolutions, Legislative


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the nysenate.gov domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.