Honoring Barbara Smith upon the occasion of her designation as recipient of the Living the Legacy Award by the Whitney M. Young, Jr....

download pdf

Sponsored By



Senate Resolution No. 3089


HONORING Barbara Smith upon the occasion of her
designation as recipient of the Living the Legacy
Award by the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Health Center on
September 14, 2017

WHEREAS, It is incumbent upon the people of the State of New York to
recognize and acknowledge those within our midst who have made
significant contributions to the quality of life therein; and

WHEREAS, From time to time this Legislative Body takes note of
certain extraordinary individuals it wishes to recognize for their
valued contributions to the success and progress of society and publicly
acknowledge their endeavors which have enhanced the basic humanity among
us all; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor Barbara
Smith upon the occasion of her designation as recipient of the Living
the Legacy Award by the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Health Center, to be
celebrated at its 2017 Annual Legacy Event on Thursday, September 14,
2017, at Revolution Hall in Troy, New York; and

WHEREAS, Since July 19, 1971, The Whitney M. Young, Jr. Health
Center has provided residents of the Capital Region access to consistent
quality healthcare without regard to income; for almost five decades,
this vital organization has strived to serve as a community leader
committed to delivering dependable, compassionate, high quality health
care which enhances the well-being of its diverse and changing
communities; and

WHEREAS, The Whitney M. Young, Jr. Health Center's Living the Legacy
Award is given annually to a community leader who has made a substantial
difference in the Capital District; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Smith is an author, advocate, and independent
scholar who has played a groundbreaking role in opening up a national
cultural and political dialogue concerning the intersections of race,
class, sexuality, and gender; and

WHEREAS, Beginning in the early 1960s, Barbara Smith has been active
in numerous roles influencing African American women's literary
tradition, Black women's studies and Black feminist thought; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her distinguished career, Barbara Smith has
edited three major collections about Black women: Conditions: Five, The
Black Women's Issue, All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men,
But Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies, and Home Girls: A Black
Feminist Anthology; she also co-authored Yours in Struggle: Three
Feminist Perspectives on Anti-Semitism and Racism; and

WHEREAS, In 1998, Barbara Smith was the general editor of The
Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History with Wilma Mankiller,
Gwendolyn Mink, Marysa Navarro, and Gloria Steinem; in that same year, a

collection of her essays, The Truth That Never Hurts: Writings on Race,
Gender, and Freedom was published by Rutgers University Press; and

WHEREAS, In November of 2014, Barbara Smith published Ain't Gonna
Let Nobody Turn Me Around: Forty Years of Movement Building with Barbara
Smith, an exceptional work which earned her many honors; and

WHEREAS, This great luminary also held the title of both cofounder
and publisher of Kitchen Table: Women of Color Press, making her the
first United States publisher for women of color; and

WHEREAS, A resident of Albany, New York, Barbara Smith has served
two terms as a member of the Albany Common Council from 2006-2013;
currently, she is the Special Community Projects Coordinator for the
City of Albany helping to implement the Equity Agenda; and

WHEREAS, For her steadfast and unremitting commitment to her
community and her vision of equality, Barbara Smith was the recipient of
numerous awards and accolades including the 2017 African American Policy
Forum Harriet Tubman Lifetime Achievement Award; in 2015, she received a
Doctor of Letters, Honorary degree by the University at Albany, the
Lambda Literary Award, the Publishing Triangle Award, the Women of
Excellence Award for Distinguished Career, and the Literary Legends
Award; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Smith was also presented with the 2009 Alumnae
Association of Mount Holyoke College Achievement Award, the 2000 Church
Women United Human Rights Award, the 1999 Albany Chapter National
Association for the Advancement of Colored People Arts Award, the 1998
Honorable Mention Gustavus Myers Human Rights Book Award, and the 1987
Mount Holyoke College Alumnae Association Sesquicentennial Award; and

WHEREAS, In addition, Barbara Smith was named a 2012 "Makers: Women
Who Make America," a 2010 "Capitaland Quarterly" Dozen Who Make a
Difference, a 2005 Nobel Peace Prize nominee, and a 1996-1997 Fellow at
Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College, as well as a 1995-1996
Scholar-in-Residence at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black
Culture; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend
individuals of outstanding character, who have shown initiative and
commitment toward constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves, and
acting as role models of leadership to be emulated by both peers and
young people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to
honor Barbara Smith upon the occasion of her designation as recipient of
the Living the Legacy Award by the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Health Center
on September 14, 2017; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be
transmitted to Barbara Smith.


  • 08 / Sep / 2017
  • 09 / Jan / 2018
  • 09 / Jan / 2018

Resolution Details

Law Section:
Resolutions, Legislative


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the nysenate.gov domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.