Commemorating the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, New York

download pdf

Sponsored By




Senate Resolution No. 2796

BY: Senator COONEY

COMMEMORATING the 200th Anniversary of Monroe
County, New York

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor and
commemorate the distinguished histories of the communities which
comprise the noble body of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern and in full accord with its
long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to
commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, New York, to be
recognized with a year-long Bicentennial Celebration, recognizing the
proud history and the promising future of Monroe County; and

WHEREAS, With the theme, "Celebrate More," this auspicious milestone
will be celebrated with a myriad of events, including festivals,
concerts, parades, and educational programming; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County, New York, named for President James Monroe,
was created from portions of Ontario and Genesee Counties on February
23, 1821; the county already included 28,000 settlers in growing towns
and villages that provided agricultural products and market support for
the burgeoning mill town known as Rochester; and

WHEREAS, The county seat, Rochester, named for one of its three
founders, used the power of the Genesee River to drive the mills and the
convenience of the Erie Canal to ship products; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, those products would change from flour to
flowers, as the nursery business flourished thanks to the moderating
effect of Lake Ontario; industry would again change the nature of local
products to an increasing emphasis on technological innovations, while
the county's towns and villages maintained the agricultural base that
nourished growing business; and

WHEREAS, Today, Monroe County is comprised of 19 towns, 10 villages
and the City of Rochester, the third largest city in the state, with a
combined population of approximately 750,000 residents and a land area
of 663.21 square miles; and

WHEREAS, From its early agricultural and milling start, Monroe
County has developed into a modern center for high-technology
industries, manufacturing, education, medicine and exports; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County is home to the World Headquarters for both
the Eastman Kodak and Bausch & Lomb Corporations, and to manufacturing
facilities such as General Motors, Xerox, and ITT Automotive; and

WHEREAS, Furthermore, on a per capita basis, Monroe County's
industries export more manufactured goods than any other community in
the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, Eight institutions of higher learning also call Monroe
County home, including The University of Rochester, the Rochester

Institute of Technology and the National Institute for the Deaf, Monroe
Community College, the State University of New York College at
Brockport, Saint John Fisher College, Nazareth College and Roberts
Wesleyan College, which all add to the area's highly educated workforce
and diversified cultural life; and

WHEREAS, Of historic origin, and remaining fruitful over the ebb and
flow of decades of growth and change, Monroe County continues to provide
the quintessential quality of life for its residents; and

WHEREAS, The residents of Monroe County have a bright outlook for
the future of their community, which remains a beautiful place in which
to live and raise a family; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of the Monroe County's rich history and
enduring contribution to the State of New York, this Legislative Body is
proud to pay tribute to this spirited county upon the occasion of its
200th Anniversary; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to
commemorate the 200th Anniversary of Monroe County, recognizing the
significance of the role it continues to play in the life of the
community of the State of New York; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be
transmitted to Monroe County.


  • 25 / May / 2022
  • 01 / Jun / 2022
  • 01 / Jun / 2022

Resolution Details

Law Section:
Resolutions, Legislative


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the nysenate.gov domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.