Congratulations 2009 Teachers of Distinction

Frank Padavan

May 13, 2009

On Thursday, May 7th I had the opportunity to honor 40 teachers from throughout our community who excel in the classroom in preparing our children for their future. On behalf of the families, students and parents I extend our gratitude to each and every teacher in the classrooms throughout Northeast Queens and our congratulations to the 2009 Teachers of Distinction. 

Principals from each school throughout the 11th Senate District were encouraged to nominate outstanding teacher from their school and submit that name to Senator Padavan to represent the school and be recognized at the awards ceremony held during National Teacher Appreciation Week. During the ceremony, I presented each honoree with a special Senate Certificate of Merit in recognition of their exceptional service as a teacher in Northeast Queens.

The 2009 Teachers of Distinction are: 

• Ruth Fried- Yeshiva University High School for Girls
• Christina MacKenzie- Whitestone Academy
• Cathy Kenny- Holy Cross High School
• Janice Hengl- Holy Trinity School
• Marica O’Neal Suber- St. Kevin School
• Sharon LaPenta- PS/IS 178Q
• Dana Chimento- PS 203
• Phyllis Pastuzka- PS/IS 166
• Robert Johnston- St.Francis Preparatory School
• Christina Cerdrone- St. Mel’s School
• Connie Cannone- St. Anastasia School 
• Clara Kang- JHS 185
• Kendra Tinglin- PS/IS 208
• Angela Burnett- St. Andrew Avellino School
• Keri Wade-Donohue- St. Agnes Academic High School
• Judy Hom- PS 33Q
• Atia Abangapakwa-Toussaint- Holy Trinity Community School
• Vanessa Menendez- Mary’s Nativity School
• Eileen Edebohls- Sacred Heart School
• JoAnn Summerville- Martin Van Buren High School
• Lina Heim- Our Lady of Lourdes
• Karen Record- Queens Centers of Progress
• Susan Mazzo- PS 94Q
• Douglas Potter- Benjamin Cardozo High School
• Karen Greenberg- PS 35Q
• Ianthy Goodison- Thomas A. Edison Center High School
• Philip Smolowitz- PS 811Q at the Queens High School of Teaching
• Houri Ghougassian- Holy Martyrs Armenian Day School
• Sharon Christian- Marie Curie MS 158
• Sister Catherine Quinn, S.C.- St. Nicholas Tolentine School
• Kathleen Retzel- Immaculate Conception School
• Jo-Ann Licciardi- Our Lady of Snows
• Ericka Conlon- St. Luke School
• Sister Patricia O’Keefe- The Mary Louis Academy
• Barbara Karafa- The Lutheran School of Flushing and Bayside
• Domingo Carrasco- PS 129Q
• Laura Buquicchio- PS 129Q
• David Dame- PS 129Q
• Susan Sladowsky- Bayside High School