Roberta Byron-Lockwood

April 27, 2018

Roberta Byron-Lockwood is the President/CEO of the Sullivan Catskills Visitors Association (SCVA), the official destination marketing organization for Sullivan County. She brings a rich history of tourism experience and is responsible for marketing, promoting and selling the Sullivan Catskills to the world.

Prior to her tenure at SCVA, Ms. Byron-Lockwood was the Regional Tourism Director for Central New York, serving simultaneously as Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Marketing & Advertising for Empire State Development and Tourism Director for “I Love New York.” She was selected as a delegate from New York State at the only White House Tourism Conference under President Bill Clinton, served on the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board under two governors, is a founder of the New York State Tourism Promotion Agency Council, and hosted the Governor’s Catskill Challenge.

Ms. Byron-Lockwood earned a Master’s Degree in Business Administration and Public Administration from SUNY Plattsburgh. Currently, she serves as President of the Regional Environment and Agriculture Program, Scenic Wild Delaware River Executive Board Member, Sullivan County Chamber of Commerce, Sullivan County Partnership for Economic Development, New York State Tourism Industry Coalition and SUNY Sullivan Curriculum Advisory Board.

A dedicated member of the community, serving as past Chair of WSUL/WVOS Heart-a-Thon, Boys & Girls Club of Sullivan and Orange Counties and Sullivan County Renaissance, Ms. Byron-Lockwood has received over 40 awards in leadership, marketing, and tourism development. These awards include I Love NY Individual Achievement, NYSTIA Excellence in Tourism (3), the SUNY Sullivan Women Who Make a Difference and the Sullivan County Partnership Distinguished Service Award.

Under Ms. Byron-Lockwood’s leadership, visitor spending in the Sullivan Catskills has grown over 20% since 2009. She is currently developing cutting-edge training programs to entice Metro New Yorkers, domestic and international travelers from China, Germany, Switzerland, Ireland, the UK and Australia.