Senator Bonacic Invites Nominees for 2016 "Women of Distinction"

February 29, 2016

(Albany, NY)- State Senator John J. Bonacic (R/C/I-Mt. Hope) today invited local residents from the 42nd Senate District to nominate colleagues, friends, and neighborhood leaders whose exceptional work on the behalf of their communities make them deserving of special recognition as a New York “Woman of Distinction” by the New York State Senate.

“There are incredible women in New York State who devote a great deal of time, energy, and patience into making their communities stronger. The annual Women of Distinction Program provides the opportunity to recognize the success of these valuable women at the local level and celebrate their achievements at the state level. This program also provides a special occasion to thank women for their notable impact on the lives of others,” said Senator Bonacic.

Previous honorees have included business leaders, community advocates, educators, everyday heroes, volunteers, innovators, and those who triumphed despite difficult odds. This program is part of Women’s History celebration in March and provides a great opportunity to nominate a woman who has made a remarkable contribution.

A ceremony honoring the distinguished woman from each Senate District will be held in Albany on Tuesday May 10th from 5:30-7:30 pm. The honoree from each senate district will have their photograph and biography displayed as part of a special exhibit showcasing the contributions of exemplary New York women.

If you would like to nominate a woman who lives in the 42nd Senate District, please send an email to Senator Bonacic’s Office at, or call 845-344-3311.The 42nd Senate District includes the following communities: all of Sullivan County; the following Towns in Delaware County: Masonville, Tompkins, Walton, Hamden, Delhi, and Colchester; the following Towns in Orange County: Deerpark, Goshen, Greenville, Hamptonburgh, Minisink, Mount Hope, Tuxedo, Wallkill, Warwick, Wawayanda; Cities of Middletown and Port Jervis; and in Ulster County, the Towns of Denning, Gardiner, New Paltz, Rosendale, Shawangunk, and Wawarsing

Nominations must include a brief biography of approximately 300 words detailing the reason your nominee should be selected as this year’s Woman of Distinction. Nominations must include the town or city of residence and phone number of the nominee. Those making nominations should also include their own name and contact information. Nominations must be received by March 25, 2016.