Yates County Chapter of SCOPE recognizes Senator O'Mara as Second Amendment supporter

Thomas F. O'Mara

January 26, 2012

Penn Yan, N.Y., January 26—The Yates County Chapter of SCOPE (Shooters Committee on Political Education) recently recognized State Senator Tom O’Mara (R-C, Big Flats) as its “2011 Politician of the Year.”

SCOPE, which has chapters throughout New York State, was founded in 1965 by a group of western New York firearms owners.  The organization is focused on the “protection and preservation of the right of firearms ownership as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.”

O’Mara, an avid sportsman and one of the Legislature’s strongest Second Amendment advocates, welcomed the group’s long-standing and ongoing efforts to promote responsible firearms ownership and to oppose state and federal legislation seeking to restrict Second Amendment rights.

In the photo, from left to right, are William Button, Treasurer of the Yates County Chapter of SCOPE; Senator O’Mara; John E. Prendergast, Chairman of the Yates County Chapter; and Stephen J. Aldstadt, SCOPE State President.