Senator Montgomery honors Lynn Nottage on her historic second Pulitzer Prize award.

Senator Velmanette Montgomery

May 05, 2017

Lynn Nottage is the first female playwright to receive this prestigious award for the second time.

As New York State commemorates the 100th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage, Senator Montgomery is proud to honor constituent, Lynn Nottage, for her trailblazing plays and powerful narratives. Senator Montgomery and the New York State Senate congratulates Lynn, upon the occasion of her designation as recipient of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for SWEAT,  her timely play about a steel factory in Reading, Pennsylvania, and the resulting economic and racial chaos in that working-class town where friendships and family ties are irreparably damaged.

In 2009, Lynn Nottage won her first Pulitzer Prize for her play entitled RUINED, which takes a look at the impact of the brutal civil war in the Democratic Republic of Congo, and its horrific impact on women. She is the first female playwright to receive this prestigious award for the second time; joining the likes of legendary playwrights Tennessee Williams and Eugene O'Neill, who have won the Pulitzer on more than one occasion.

Her plays include Intimate Apparel, Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine, Crumbs from the Table of Joy, Las Meninas, and Ruined. They have been produced and developed at theatres both nationally and internationally, including the Manhattan Theatre Club, the Goodman Theatre, the Roundabout Theatre Company, Playwrights Horizons, Center Stage, South Coast Rep., Second Stage, Freedom Theatre, Sundance Institute Theatre Lab, St. Louis Black Rep., Crossroads Theatre, Intiman, San Jose Rep., Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Steppenwolf, Yale Rep., The Vineyard Theatre, The Women’s Project, New Dramatists Playtime Lab, The Tricycle Theatre in London, among many others.

Lynn is the recipient of numerous awards including the 2007 MacArthur Genius Award, an OBIE Award for playwriting, NY Drama Critics Circle Award, Best play and John Gassner Outer Critics Circle awards, American Theatre Critics/Steinberg 2004 New Play Award, 2004 Francesca Primus Award, and 2 AUDELCO awards. Lynn’s most recent publications include: Intimate Apparel and Fabulation (TCG) and an anthology of her plays, Crumbs from the Table of Joy and Other Plays (TCG) which includes Crumbs from the Table of Joy, Las Meninas; Mud, River, Stone;Por’knockers and Poof! She was awarded a 2007 Lucille Lortel Foundation Fellowship, 2005 Guggenheim Fellowship, The National Black Theatre Festival’s August Wilson Playwriting Award and the 2004 PEN/Laura Pels Award for Drama. 

To learn more about Lynn Nottage and the Legislative Resolution commemorating her 2nd Pulitizer Prize for Drama, please visit

Senator Montgomery comments on J.1676