Senator Fuschillo Welcomes Babe Ruth National Championship Baseball Team From Long Island To State Capitol

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

June 06, 2008

Photo caption: Senators Fuschillo (second right), Hannon (right), Skelos (left), and Marcellino (second left) welcome the Long Blue Demons Championship baseball team to the state capitol.

    Players and coaches from the Long Island Blue Demons Baseball Team were recently honored at the State Capitol in Albany by Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (8th Senate District) for winning the 2007 Babe Ruth World Series Championship in the 13-15 year old age bracket.

The team began their day in Albany with a tour of the state museum followed by lunch with Senators Fuschillo, Kemp Hannon, and Carl Marcellino, and Assemblymen Joseph Saladino, Bob Barra, and Tom Alfano. After touring the State Capitol, the team visited with Senator Fuschillo, Senator Dean Skelos, and Senate Majority Leader Joseph Bruno. The day concluded with players and coaches being honored during a session of the New York State Senate, where a legislative resolution sponsored by Senator Fuschillo was read into the official record.

    The Blue Demons were the first Long Island team ever to win the Babe Ruth World Series in the 13-15 year old age bracket. The squad was made up of 14 to 15 year old boys from communities across the south shore, including Freeport, North Merrick, North Bellmore, Wantagh, and the Massapequas.

    After winning the State and Regional Championships, the Demons traveled to Andalusia, Alabama to compete in the World Series. The Blue Demons captured the championship after defeating a team from Hendrickson, Kentucky by a score of 6-0. In recognition of the Blue Demons victory, a team jersey and hat will be on display at the National Baseball Hall of Fame for one year.

    The team consisted of coaches Fred Kreuder, Peter August, and William Faust, and players Peter August (Freeport), Brett Barnathan (Massapequa), Richard Bianchi, III (North Bellmore), Robert Cafiero (Bethpage), John Dunn (Massapequa Park), Christian Faust (Massapequa), Alejandro Marine (Freeport), Douglas Marshall (Wantagh), Brian Mauro (North Merrick), Ronald Remi (Massapequa), Jesse Signa (Bethpage), Dino Tomasetti (Hewlett), Robert Tomasulo (North Bellmore), Kyle Tracy (Plainview), and Bryan Verbitsky (Levittown).    

    “The Blue Demons made history by beating teams from across the country to win the Babe Ruth World Series. It was wonderful to see the players and coaches, who worked so hard for this achievement, have their moment in the spotlight at the state capitol,” said Senator Fuschillo. TO SEND AN EMAIL TO SENATOR FUSCHILLO, PLEASE CLICK HERE.