Primary Homes Eligible For Fema Housing Aid

James L. Seward

July 13, 2006

Senator James L. Seward said today that state and federal officials are reminding area residents and those affected by the June flooding that disaster assistance for home repairs applies to primary homes.

Homeowners, renters, and business of all sizes in the 12 disaster-affected counties of Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Orange, Otsego, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga, and Ulster are eligible to register for disaster assistance for damages from the flooding that began on June 26.

Only primary homes, not vacation or secondary homes, are eligible for U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster assistance to make home repairs.

If your primary home was damaged, and you suffered losses from the flooding, register with FEMA and the state.

One week after President Bush declared 12 New York counties eligible for disaster assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses, more than $2.2 million has been approved to assist flood victims with housing.

"We are pleased that we have been able to approve these housing funds in such a short time," said Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson. "This money will allow many to have the necessity of safe and secure housing."

Housing assistance include funds for emergency home repairs or rental assistance.

To register with FEMA, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 1-800-462-7585. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily. Flood victims can register also online at

To register for assistance from New York State, call 1-888-7-NYS-AID (1-888-769-7243) or (TTY) NYS Relay 711; or register online at The state lines are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday.