Senators Join Panel To Craft Extension Of Megan's Law

James L. Seward

January 13, 2006

The New York State Senatetoday announcedappointments to a joint legislative conference committee on legislation that would mandate lifetime registration for sex offenders.

The senateappointed Senator Dean Skelos (R, Rockville Centre), the author of the original Megan’s Law 10 years ago, to serve as co-chair of the conference committee.Also appointed wereSenator Michael F. Nozzolio (R-C, Fayette), chairman of the Senate Committee on Crime Victims, Crime and Corrections, Senator John Flanagan (R-C, East Northport) and Senator Nicholas Spano (R-C-I-WF, Westchester).

Senate Minority Leader David Paterson appointed Senator Jeff Klein (D, Westchester/Bronx) to serve on the conference committee.

"The conference committee will begin meeting next week and will have to work quickly to resolve the differences between the bills passed by the senate and the assembly to ensure that no sexual predator is allowed to come off the registry," Senator Bruno said.

On January 21, 2006, the 10th anniversary of the effective date of New York State’s sex offender registry, 168 sex offenders will be dropped from the registry because they have met the 10-year mandate to keep police posted of their whereabouts. Hundreds more will drop off the sex offender registry each month thereafter, totaling over 3,500 offenders by the end of 2006.