Fairport High School Student Honored In Renowned Science Competition

James S. Alesi

February 22, 2005

Senator Jim Alesi (R,C - Perinton) today joins Governor Pataki to announce that Bruce Brewington of Fairport High School is one of 13 New York State high school students to have been named a finalist in the Intel Science Talent Search -- often considered the "Junior Nobel Prize."

"Selected as a finalist for the Intel Science Talent Search, Bruce Brewington is recognized as one of the nation's most talented young scientific minds," said Senator Alesi. "Bruce's achievement is an awesome testament to his desire and passion for learning. I wish him the best of luck in Washington and beyond."

Brewington joins a delegation of finalists from New York -- the most representation of any state -- in this year's competition, which will be held in Washington, D.C., March 10th - 15th. The size of the delegation compliments New York State's rich history of finalists with more than 850 finalists representing New York over the 64-year history of the program. This year, Brewington was selected from a pool of 953 reports entered by students across the state.

Judged based on their individual research reports for research ability, scientific originality and creative thinking, Brewington and his fellow finalists were selected from a pool of nearly 1,000 students who entered the competition. The reports were reviewed and judged by more than 100 top scientists from a variety of disciplines. The Intel Science Talent Search honors both semifinalists and their schools with a $1,000 prize, with the finalists competing in March for more than $500,000 in scholarships.

The Intel Science Talent Search, referred to as the "Junior Nobel Prize," is the most prestigious pre-college science competition in the United States. Participation in the competition has served as a precursor to impressive accomplishments in science. Past finalists hold more than 100 of the world's most coveted science and math honors, including six Nobel Prizes, three National Medals of Science, 10 MacArthur Foundation Fellowships and two Fields Medals. Many alumni have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences or the National Academy of Engineering.