Senator Alesi Announces Disaster Recovery Funds From Summer Storms

James S. Alesi

February 22, 2005

Senator Jim Alesi (R,C - Perinton) joins Governor Pataki in announcing the release of more than $150,000 in federal and state payments to local municipalities and entities, including Monroe County and the City of Rochester, in the continuing recovery efforts from last year's late summer storms which resulted in two federal disaster declarations.

"I am pleased to join the Governor in announcing payments to our local governments and emergency organizations," said Senator Alesi. "Our community leaders and devoted volunteers exhibited tremendous perseverance, remaining composed in a challenging and difficult situation. I am truly grateful for their hard work and dedication."

The first series of storms, which began August 13th and continued through September 16th, caused extensive flooding that closed State and local major roadways, isolated residents and significantly impacted businesses. The heavy rains led to power outages, and coupled with the road closures, forced scores of area residents to seek shelter out of their homes. Monroe County was declared eligible to receive public assistance due to these storms.

Local governments and entities receiving funds were: Chili Fire Department, $1,284.25; Churchville Fire Department, $7,683.45; Town of Henrietta, $3,923.90; Village of Honeoye Falls, $23,775.04; Town of Irondequoit, $59,298.50; Mendon Fire District, $1,750.05; County of Monroe, $53,843.02; Town of Pittsford, $1,511.37; Ridge Road Fire District, $9,644.03; and the City of Rochester, $3,801.

This funding was forwarded from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to the State Emergency Management Office (SEMO), which is responsible for the coordination and distribution of disaster relief funds in New York. Among the State agencies that responded and assisted in the recovery effort were the New York State Police, the state departments of Transportation, Health, Environmental Conservation and Correctional Services, the State Thruway Authority and SEMO.