Senate Majority Leader Malcolm A. Smith Announces Democratic Appointments To Reform Committee

Malcolm A. Smith

January 13, 2009

State Senate Majority Leader Malcolm A. Smith today announced the six Democratic appointments to the bi-partisan Temporary Senate Committee on Rules and Administration Reform. The appointments include Senators David J. Valesky (D-Oneida) who will serve as co-Chair, Liz Krueger (D-Manhattan), Jeff Klein (D-Bronx), Jose M. Serrano (D-Bronx/Manhattan), Andrea Stewart-Cousins (D-Yonkers), and Daniel Squadron (D-Brooklyn/Manhattan). 

These appointments come just one day after Senate Democrats presided over their first legislative session in more than 40 years, at which the committee was formally established and an initial round of reforms were implemented. 

"What we did yesterday was historic, but was only the beginning," said Senator Smith. "Our Majority is committed to advancing the cause of the reform because that is what is right for the people of this state who deserve a well-functioning Legislature. These members have dedicated themselves to an inclusive and deliberative body, and their proposals will help restore New Yorkers confidence in the legislative process." 

The committee has 9 members in all, and will work with the public, editorial boards, good government groups and fellow legislators to fully usher in a new era in Albany. Members are charged with submitting comprehensive reform proposals to the full Senate no later than April 13, 2009.