Essay Contest Finalists To Compete For Title "state Senator For A Day"

Martin J. Golden

April 20, 2005

Brooklyn- State Senator Martin J. Golden (R-C, 22nd District) today is announcing that the finalists have been selected in his 5th Annual "State Senator For A Day" essay contest.

This contest invited local school children of District 20, District 21 and District 22 to write essays no more than 250-words which began with the phrase, "If I were a State Senator for A Day...". Throughout the essay, the students write about issues facing the community such as public safety, park improvements, educational needs, and traffic concerns. The winning essays were judged on content and creativity. A contest ceremony has been scheduled for Wednesday, May 30, 2007, at 7:00 p.m. at the Knights of Columbus located at 1305-86th Street in Brooklyn.

"The contest has always served as a valuable educational learning tool for both myself and the school children of our community," said Golden, "The children present ideas and address areas of concern in their essays that are truly reflective of the needs of this neighborhood. At times, I have taken their suggestions and work towards them in my capacity as a representative, such as the restoration of our parks, removing graffiti and increasing police patrol on our streets."

"Over a thousand students submitted their essays for my consideration," continued Senator Golden, "As always, it is a most difficult decision to select the finalists for our local students are well educated and are understanding of the issues facing our community. I look forward to the students presenting their ideas before a panel of judges on May 30th."

The finalists are: Peter Anagnostakos, I.S. 104, Michael Barresi, Brooklyn Studio School, Julia Buczynski, I.S. 228, Derek Brown, Adelphi Academy, Jim Chan, I.S. 201, Andrew Conte, Our Lady of Grace, Alexa D’Acquisto, Our Lady of Guadalupe, James D’Esposito, Our Lady of Grace, Vincent Eaton, St. Anselm’s School, Rowan El-Yateem, Adelphi Academy, Vincenzo Giannetto, Our Lady of Grace, Alexon Grochowski,Visitation Academy, and Rianna Hage, Visitation Academy.

The finalists also include: Sam Hage, St. Patrick’s School, Jena Johansen, Visitation Academy, Mustufa Khatri, I.S. 303, Danielle Kovarsky, I.S. 239, David Kunkovsky, I.S. 239, Gabrielle Nicole Messina, Visitation Academy, Cassandra Molinari, Our Lady of Grace, Gina Piro, St. Ephrem’s School, Kara Reilly, Visitation Academy, Daniel Simpson, Brooklyn Studio School, Michelle Valevich, I.S. 303, Natalie Vantuyn, I.S. 30, Emily Wong, I.S. 98 and Volmir Zavodovsky, I.S. 239.

The winner of the contest, based on performance, thoughts and presentation, and their class will be invited to Albany to see the legislative process in action.

Senator Marty Golden is a member of the Senate Committee on Education.