Golden Bestows State Honor On Xaverian High School Championship Basketball Team

Martin J. Golden

June 14, 2005

Brooklyn- State Senator Marty Golden today joined Xaverian High School President President Sal Ferrera in honoring the members and coaches of the Xaverian Varsity Basketball Team who in a March 9, 2005 game won the New York State Catholic High School Athletic Association Class AA Championship.

Golden presented a New York State Resolution, approved by the State Senate, to varsity basketball coaches Jack Alesi and Brian Nigro and members of the team including: Zamal Nixon, Justin Leemow, Timothy Hepworth, Dennis Hepworth, Jake Stevens, Dennis McGowan, Terence Mayrose, Corey Nocco, Lavance Fields, Chris Lowery, Brian McKenzie, Saiquon Stone, Glen Richberg, David Imes, and Ryan Glover.

Golden stated, "I am very proud of Xaverian High School. The hallmarks of the Xaverian High School Boys Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none."