Legislation Sponsored By Senator Saland To Establish The Tech Valley High School Passes The Senate

Stephen M. Saland

June 21, 2005

Senator Steve Saland (R,C Poughkeepsie) today announced that legislation he has sponsored (S.5729) together with Senate Majority Leader Joseph L. Bruno (R, Brunswick) to create Tech Valley High School has passed the Senate. The technology-themed high school would provide students in Columbia County and throughout the Capital District with the opportunity to learn advanced sciences and emerging technologies.

Tech Valley High School would have a student population of approximately 400 students and would provide a standard regents high school course of instruction for grades nine through twelve together with a focus in technology. Students residing in the Capital Region BOCES and Questar III BOCES districts would be eligible to attend.

"Tech Valley High School would provide an important learning opportunity for students in Columbia County and throughout the Capital Region," said Senator Stephen Saland (R-C, Poughkeepsie), Chairman of the Senate Education Committee. "The Hudson Valley has a rich history in emerging technologies and with Tech Valley High School we would be able to integrate this very valuable knowledge into the academic experience of our students. Students would be able to utilize the very latest in technical facilities and come away with an excellent knowledge of emerging technologies."

Tech Valley High School will engage students in rigorous and enriching educational experiences focused on emerging technologies, project-based learning and collaboration, and will provide experience in advanced technical facilities.

The legislation requires Tech Valley High School to obtain an educational charter and registration from the Board of Regents to operate the high school and would establish an 11 member board of directors for the school. The board would consist of two BOCES superintendents, the two BOCES board presidents, two component board superintendents, two component school board members, and three members appointed by the Commissioner of Education who are local business experts, including a member from a local institution of higher education with an expertise in a technology related field.

The Capital Region BOCES covers school districts in Albany, Schenectady and Schoharie Counties, as well as Shenendehowa and Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake in Saratoga County. The Questar III BOCES covers schools in Rensselaer, Columbia, and part of Greene Counties (Cairo-Durham, Catskill, Coxsackie-Athens, Greenville).