Rockland Elementary School Named "Blue Ribbon School"

Thomas P. Morahan

October 04, 2007

New York State Senator Thomas P. Morahan, a member of the Senate Education Committee today announced that the New York State Education Department, in cooperation with the United States Education Department, has named Strawtown Elementary School in West Nyack one of 16 New York State schools designated a 2007 Blue Ribbon School. To reward successful schools, the U.S. Department of Education established the No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools Program to honor those elementary and secondary schools in the United States that make significant progress in closing the achievement gap or whose students achieve at very high levels. The State Education Department nominated the 16 New York schools for the award.


"As a member of the Senate Education Committee, I want to commend Strawtown Elementary School Principal James Conway and his dedicated staff for their dedication and professionalism, as well as their success in helping students at the school perform at a higher level. More importantly, I want to congratulate the students of the Strawtown school for their hardwork," said Senator Morahan (R-C-I, New City).

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes and presents as models public elementary and middle schools that met either of two assessment criteria during the 2005-2006 school year.

First, the Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds where student performance is in the top 10 percent in reading (English Language Arts) and mathematics on state assessments. Second, it recognizes schools, regardless of their demographics, that are in the top 10 percent of schools as measured by state tests in both ELA and mathematics.

Additional eligibility criteria include the following:

· Schools must have met the 90th percentile in the highest grade-level in the school.

· Schools must have made Annual Yearly Progress (AYP) in 2005 and 2006.

· Schools must not have been on the school improvement list in 2005 and 2006.

· Schools must not be designated as persistently dangerous.

· Schools must have been open for at least five years.