Senator Morahan Announces Local Winners In Statewide Environmental Contest

Thomas P. Morahan

May 20, 2007

At an awards ceremonyat the state Capitol in Albany, New York State Senator Thomas P. Morahan (R,C,I, New City) presented awards to students from Rockland County schools selected in a statewide competition for developing creative environmental awareness projects. The New York State Senate's 16th Annual "I-MA-GREEN-Nation" competition pitted students from Grades One through Eight against their peers at other schools for presentation of innovative and creative ideas for solving the problems of solid waste reduction and/or encouraging recycling. The awards ceremony/reception at the Capitolfeatured a display of winning entrees.

"Our local winners competed against hundreds of students from throughout New York State, and their imaginative ideas and displays were judged to be among the best in this year's contest," said Senator Morahan, who is a member of the Senate's Education Committee. I know that our entire community shares my pride in these young people who have shown a remarkable awareness and concern for the important environmental challenges that we all face to make our state a better, cleaner place."

Winning Schools:

Second Place Award for a Class Project-Audio/Visual Category

St. Dominic's School, Blauvelt

Teacher: Veronica Gorman

Students: Julio Calvo, Brandon March, Adoralynn Pagan, Laura Perez, Z. Rodriguez, Dwight Rodwell, Demetrius Torain, Alexander Traub

Third Place Award for a Class Project - Literature Category

St. Dominic's School, Blauvelt

Teacher: Ms. Veronica Gorman

Students: Kaitlyn Tierney, Katilyn Giattino, Allyssa Macina, Su Su Qamar, Edgar Reyes, Jonathon Verhoeff, Amy Estrella, Michael Reyes

Third Place Award for a Class Project - Audio/Visual Category

Colton Elementary School, Spring Valley

Teachers: Ms. Helbig and Mr. Chalfin

Students: Dante Barreau, Barbara Klaver, Ashley Michel, William Sicklick, Shakwon Pegram, Chris Koshy-Vaidian, Robert Faro, Jean Maxime, Malik Mimiasie, Simi Steiner, Dianesha Davis, Bina Attias, Chrislin Hilarion, Rushane McGrath, Donaldo Salvant, Shmuel Fishman, Shannon Murphy