Maple Grove, SWCS Win State Championships

Catharine Young

December 29, 2008

The Post-Journal Staff

SYRACUSE -- Southwestern and Maple Grove have completed undefeated seasons by claiming state championships in their respective classes.

The Red Dragons completed their 13-0 season with a 55-7 victory over Moriah in the Class D state championship in the Carrier Dome.

Chris Secky was named the game's most valuable player, while Jake Larson was named most outstanding offensive back, Matt Fox was named most outstanding defensive lineman and Andrew Russer was named the most outstanding offensive lineman.

Maple Grove was already the state's top-ranked Class D team, outscoring opponents 606-107 through its first 12 games. Maple Grove won its last state football championship in 1998.

Zack Sopak was named most valuable player in Saturday's 35-7 win for Southwestern, which won its first state football championship en route to a 13-0 season.

Ryan Buzzeto was the most outstanding defensive lineman in Saturday's game while Drew Merchant was the outstanding offensive lineman. John Mistretta was named most outstanding offensive back.