Senator Fuschillo Congratulates Kennedy High School Boys Volleyball Team on Winning Nassau County Championship

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

March 08, 2011

          Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (R-Merrick) and Assemblyman David McDonough (R-North Merrick) recently visited Kennedy High School to congratulate the boys volleyball team on winning the 2010 Nassau County Class B Championship.

          “The members of the Kennedy Boys Volleyball Team earned this achievement after many hours of practice, training, and working hard together. This is a wonderful accomplishment and reward for the players and coaches, and I congratulate them on their championship season,” said Senator Fuschillo.

          The team, led by coaches Dennis Ringel and Melissa Schickler, captured the Championship after defeating Floral Park High School in a three game sweep. Team members Benjamin Hirschler, Brian O’Gorman, Dylan Simonson, Justin Scarpa, Jacob Tabman, Robert Russo, Benjamin Canarick, Nicholas Anderson, Michael Shwartz, Matthew Hirsch, Jake Sherman, Matthew Migdal, Adam Lowell, Steven Gassert, Matthew Murphy, and Gary Anderson Jr. each played a role in the team’s championship season.

          Senator Fuschillo and Assemblyman McDonough presented the players and coaches with a legislative resolution honoring their accomplishment.

          Senator Fuschillo (center) and Assemblyman McDonough (third right) are pictured as they congratulate team members Brian O’Gorman (second left) and Ben Hirschler (third left) on the team’s Nassau County Championship. They are joined by Assistant Coach Melissa Schickler, Kennedy Principal Lorraine Poppe, and Assistant Principal Gerrard Owenburg.