Senator Fuschillo Congratulates Massapequa Girls Soccer Team on Winning New York State Championship

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

March 11, 2011

             Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (R-Merrick) today visited Massapequa High School to congratulate the girls soccer team on winning the 2010 New York State Class AA Championship. 

            “The Massapequa Girls Soccer Team spent countless hours practicing, training, and working hard to achieve their goal of winning a championship. Their efforts earned them a wonderful reward; the top spot among the elite teams in New York State. I congratulate them on their incredible accomplishment,” said Senator Fuschillo. 

            The team, led by coaches Bruce Stegner, Bridget Canle, Mary Cannata, and Ron Forman, captured the state championship after defeating Webster Thomas 2-0 in the championship game. Team members Emmalee Meyer, Morgan Roessler, Taylor Elliot, Jackie Kennedy, Jamie Strumwasser, Jenna Deletto, Jackie DiMartino, Tori Lander, Anna Seneta, Erica Modena, Brianna Marquir, Brooke Palmer, Gabriella Johnston, Veronique Hepler, Stephanie Nelle, Nicole Raab, Shannon Garrity, Nicole Epstein, Madalyn Pimental, Tara Brady, Nicole Giannoti, Victoria Maley, Vanessa DiSilvio, Tori DeVito, Taylor Kugler, Amanda Reverberi, Melissa Maini, and Grace Kraemer each played a role in the team’s championship season. 

            Senator Fuschillo presented the team with copies of a legislative resolution he sponsored, which was passed by the State Senate, in honor of the team’s championship season. With passage of the resolution, the team’s coaches and athletes will forever have their names and accomplishment be part of the official record of the New York State Senate. 

            Senator Fuschillo (right) is pictured as he congratulates head coach Bruce Stegner (third left) and team captains Victoria Lander (left center), Amanda Reverberi (right center), and Stephanie Nelle (third right) on their championship season. They are joined by (l-r) Athletic Director John Piropato, Superintendent Charles Sulc, and Principal Dr. Barbara Williams.