Senator Fuschillo Informs Residents That Stricter Penalties for Talking on a Cell Phone While Driving Are Now in Effect
Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (R-Merrick), Chairman of the Senate’s Transportation Committee, is informing residents that stronger penalties for talking on a cell phone while driving are now in effect.
“Drivers should have their attention focused on one thing when they are behind the wheel; the road. Strengthening the penalties for talking on a cell phone while driving will help improve safety, further deter individuals from driving while distracted, and help ensure that drivers stay focused on driving safely,” said Senator Fuschillo, Chairman of the Senate’s Transportation Committee.
Starting today, any driver convicted of talking on a cell phone while driving will have two points imposed on their license, in addition to the existing fine of up to $100. Previously, a driver would not have received any points on their license for talking on a cell phone while driving.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) made the change so that the point penalty for talking on a cell phone would be the same as texting while driving. Texting while driving carries a two point penalty and a fine of up to $150.
According to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, driver distraction is a contributing factor in at least one out of five crashes.