Senators Fuschillo & Johnson Congratulate Copiague School District on Earning National Recognition

Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

April 11, 2012

        Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. (R-Merrick) and Senator Owen H. Johnson (R-West Babylon) recently honored the Copiague School District for achieving national recognition.

        The Copiague School District was chosen from school districts all across the country as “Advanced Placement District of the Year” by the College Board, a non-profit agency which sponsors college level Advanced Placement courses and exams. The national award recognizes districts that increase the number of students taking college-level advanced placement courses while also raising the percentage of students earning high enough advanced placement exam scores to qualify for college credit. Copiague won the national award in the small-district category.

        Senator Fuschillo and Senator Johnson visited Copiague High School to present a copy of a legislative resolution they sponsored, which was passed by the Senate, honoring the Copiague School District for earning this award.

        Senator Fuschillo (right center) and Senator Johnson (left center) are pictured as they present a copy of the legislative resolution they sponsored to Copiague High School Principal Jeanette Altruda honoring the District for being named “Advanced Placement District of the Year.” They are joined by Copiague School District Superintendent Charles Leunig (right), Assembly Robert Sweeney (second right), and (l-r) Copiague High School Class of 2012 Top Ten students Amanda Haran, Diilara Altuner, Alexander Taveras, Shannon Blackler, Daniela Rendon, Alison Nahrevar, Nicole Vogt, Diane Lam, Laury Gomez-Pena, and Jessica Murphy.