Mohawk Valley Library System Honors Senator Hugh Farley

Hugh T. Farley

May 11, 2009

The Mohawk Valley Library System honored State Senator Hugh Farley for his advocacy and support of libraries at the system’s 50th annual dinner on May 7, 2009. 

            Cited as “a man who understands how important libraries are in our communities and how closely woven libraries are to the whole educational process”, specific examples of his work on behalf of the libraries in the Mohawk Valley were highlighted.  Marian Crounse, Senator Farley’s legislative aide, was also honored for her work on behalf of the libraries as “a true friend of libraries”.  The awards were presented at the Arkell Museum, where almost 100 library trustees, directors, and library supporters gathered for the annual system meeting.

            Local achievements were also recognized.  Jean Bakkom, trustee of the Sharon Springs Free Library, received the MVLS Trustees’ Award for her leadership and efforts to expand the library and secure stable funding.  Bakkom was a driving force in bringing together the Sharon Springs community in support of the enlarged library.  She has served on the Sharon Springs Board of Trustees since 1987, also serving as a system trustee for ten years. 

            The Canajoharie Library was awarded the Library Recognition Award for their Teen Summer Reading Program ‘Metamorphosis’.   Librarian Leah LaFera successfully launched the program in 2008 to involve teens in the library through a reading program, special events and an art contest.  Library efforts were supported by local businesses and organizations.

                     Annual awards presented by the system recognize achievements in public library services in the Mohawk Valley region.  Established in 1975, the Trustees Award recognizes individuals whose efforts have promoted and enriched library service in Fulton, Montgomery, Schenectady, and Schoharie counties. The Library Recognition Award, inaugurated in 2006, honors excellence in service, sustained outreach to a specific population, or innovative services.  Each award winner receives a framed certificate and a monetary award for their affiliated library.

         Marion Grimes, from Schenectady County, was re-elected to the MVLS Board of Trustees.        

         The Mohawk Valley Library System is a cooperative public library system serving the fourteen independent public libraries of Fulton, Montgomery, Schenectady, and Schoharie counties. The system provides support to the public libraries in the four counties, helping them to better serve their local communities through resource sharing, automation services, delivery, consultant services, and continuing education.  A thirteen member Board of Trustees governs the system. One of twenty-three public library systems in New York State, Mohawk Valley Library System operates under a state approved Plan of Service.