Senator Farley Calls on President to Expand Disaster Assistance for Montgomery County

State Senator Hugh T. Farley (R, C, I - Schenectady) called on President Obama and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to expand federal disaster assistance available to Montgomery County so home and business owners can apply for federal assistance.

While localities in Montgomery County will be eligible to receive federal assistance to pay for road, bridge and infrastructure repairs related to the storm, home and business owners were not included on the list.

"I am glad Schenectady County was included in the expedited declaration of being a disaster zone and being eligible for FEMA aid," Senator Farley said. "However, I am deeply concerned that Montgomery County was not included in the initial round. Montgomery County residents and businesses were hit hard and are in desperate need of help. I am strongly urging State and Federal agencies to act quickly to make Montgomery County eligible for federal assistance."

The Governor requested 26 counties to be declared disaster areas, Senator Farley reported. FEMA declared that individuals in only 7 counties are eligible to apply for federal grants and low interest loans.

"People in Montgomery County should be eligible for federal assistance," Senator Farley said. "I am calling on the federal government to expand its declaration of disaster areas and not leave the residents of Montgomery County behind."