Mohawk Valley Nine Pledge Support for Remington

James L. Seward

September 28, 2020

Mohawk Valley Nine co-chairs Senator Seward and Assemblywoman Buttenschon

ALBANY, 09/28/20 – The Mohawk Valley Nine, a bipartisan coalition of state legislators representing Herkimer, Madison and Oneida counties, today pledged their support to Remington Arms’ employees.  The delegation stated:

“On the eve of the auction of Remington Outdoor Company, we are closely monitoring the sale of the Ilion plant.  Of greatest concern are the employees and their families, they are the backbone of the heritage company, the community, and the regional economy.

“The dedicated, skilled, multi-generational workforce at Remington is one of the company’s greatest assets.  The employees deserve stability and peace of mind as the company goes through an ownership change.  We stand ready to work with the new owners, and will be reaching out to them immediately, to ensure the company will flourish and expand.  Remington is more than an economic driver, it is a way of life in our region and the company’s future success is vital to everyone in the Mohawk Valley.”

The Mohawk Valley Nine is comprised of delegation co-chairs Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I – Oneonta) and Assemblywoman Marianne Buttenschon (D/I-Utica/Rome), Senator Joseph A. Griffo (R/C/I – Rome), Senator Rachel May (D – Syracuse), Senator Jim Tedisco (R/C/I/Ref – Glenville), Assemblyman Ken Blankenbush (R/C/I – Black River), Assemblyman Brian Miller (R/C/I – New Hartford), Assemblyman John Salka (R/C/Ref-Brookfield), Assemblyman Robert Smullen (R/C/Ref-Meco).