Senate Passes Klein Bill Requiring Companies to Notify Residents 48-Hours Before Pesticide Spraying Occurs
State Senator and Deputy Majority Leader Jeffrey D. Klein (D-Bronx/Westchester) announced Monday that the NYS Senate passed his legislation to help protect the health of thousands of New Yorkers from unannounced spraying of dangerous pesticides in their communities. Klein’s bill (S1901/NYS Assembly same-as A5823/Latimer) mandates that commercial pesticide applicators must notify residents of multiple-family dwellings at least 48-hours prior to spraying pesticides on the lawn of the building.
“It is only fair that residents of apartment buildings and multi-family homes have the same right of prior notification as residents of neighboring properties. By notifying residents of upcoming pesticide applications, we can help protect the health and well-being of thousands of New York’s children and their families from dangerous and harmful chemicals,” said State Senator and Deputy Majority Leader Jeffrey D. Klein (D-Bronx/Westchester).
In 2000, the Pesticide Neighbor Notification Law was established, authorizing counties and New York City to pass laws requiring that neighbors be notified if a pesticide application was to occur on the lawn next door. As of January 1st of this year - the counties of Albany, Erie, Monroe, Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, Tompkins, Ulster, and Westchester, and New York City - had all adopted local Neighbor Notification Laws.
The Pesticide Neighbor Notification Law also allowed counties to require that neighbors be given 48-hour notice of commercial pesticide applications to abutting residential lawns. It did not require, however, that pesticide companies notify the occupants of the property to be sprayed, creating a situation where neighbors to a multiple-family dwelling are now entitled to more notice of upcoming pesticide applications than building occupants. Klein’s bill closes this loophole for any county that has adopted a Neighbor Notification Law by requiring that pesticide appliers notify tenants of multiple-family dwellings at least 48-hours in advance, as well as the neighbors covered under current law.
The Assembly companion bill already passed that house earlier this year.