State Senator Jen Metzger Applauds Funding for Fallsburg Pleasure Lake Management Plan

Funding will Help Town of Fallsburg Reduce Negative Impacts of Invasive Species on Local Ecosystem

Fallsburg, NY…Last week, the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced that the Town of Fallsburg will be receiving $15,000 as part of the Invasive Species Grant Program to address the underlying causes of aquatic invasive species infestations and help combat the threat that invasives pose to the health of Pleasure Lake and nearby bodies of water.

“Invasive species can disrupt and damage agriculture, ecosystems, economies, and public health,” explained Senator Metzger. “With the support of comprehensive state programs that advance rapid response and control projects, we can help local governments like the Town of Fallsburg tackle these problems and stop the spread of invasive plants, pests, and diseases. I commend the Town of Fallsburg for their wise stewardship efforts that will serve to protect the lake for future generations.”

“The Town of Fallsburg is delighted to hear that we will be receiving a DEC Invasive Species Grant.  Ensuring our lakes are clean and healthy is of paramount importance to our residents and our board and we thank Senator Metzger, Assemblywoman Gunther and the staff at the NYSDEC for their commitment to clean and healthy waterbodies here in Fallsburg,” said Steven Vegliante, Town of Fallsburg Supervisor.

The Town of Fallsburg is one of only eight awardees statewide to receive funding for a lake management planning project. The Invasive Species Grant Program, which is directed by the DEC’s Bureau of Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health, is funded by the State’s Environmental Protection Fund.

Jen Metzger represents the 42nd Senate District, which includes all of Sullivan County and parts of Delaware, Orange, and Ulster Counties. Senator Metzger serves as Chair of the Agriculture Committee and sits on the Environmental Conservation, Education, Health, Energy and Telecommunications, Local Government, Women’s Issues, Domestic Animal Welfare, and Legislative Commission on Rural Resources Committees.