Griffo accepting applications for New York Conference of Italian-American State Legislators scholarships

UTICA – New York State Senate Deputy Minority Leader Joseph Griffo, R-I-C-Rome, is encouraging area high school seniors and current college students to apply for the 2020 New York Conference of Italian-American State Legislators Academic and Athletic Scholarships.

This year, the Conference is awarding two academic and two athletic scholarships, each in the amount of $4,000. Applicants should have a grade point average of 85 or higher; be active in community service and extracurricular activities; demonstrate financial need; and in the case of the athletic scholarship, be involved in an organized sport or sports.

Applications will be accepted from state residents residing in the 47th Senate District who are either a current college student or high school senior entering college. Deputy Minority Leader Griffo’s district includes parts of Oneida and St. Lawrence counties and all of Lewis County.

“The price of attending college is a very serious concern for many students and families throughout New York State,” Deputy Minority Leader Griffo said. “This is a chance to help students lessen the burden of college debt and to defray some of the expenses incurred by seeking higher education. I encourage every eligible student in my district to apply for this scholarship.”

Area students may request an application by contacting Deputy Minority Leader Griffo’s office at (315) 793-9072, emailing or by visiting the Deputy Minority Leader's website at

Application forms should be returned to Deputy Minority Leader Griffo’s District Office in Utica by Monday, March 16.  Scholarship recipients will be announced in April, and winners will be honored at a ceremony in Albany on May 18.

The New York Conference of Italian-American State Legislators is a bipartisan organization of state Assembly and Senate members who actively promote and celebrate the state’s Italian-American community. Deputy Minority Leader Griffo has been an active member of the Conference and has served as Past President of the organization.