Senators Unite To Protect Second Amendment & Stop Microstamping

ALBANY – A majority of the members of the New York State Senate Codes Committee have today indicated their strong opposition to legislation (S.68A/A.3244A) requiring the microstamping of ammunition.

The Committee Chairman, Senator Michael Nozzolio and Committee members, Senators Phil Boyle, John DeFrancisco, John Flanagan, Patrick Gallivan, Joe Griffo, Andrew Lanza, and Tom O’Mara have all publically declared their objections to this measure. They were also joined by Senators Cathy Young, Greg Ball, Tom Libous, Jim Seward, John Bonacic, Patty Ritchie, Kathy Marchione, Bill Larkin, Betty Little, Joe Robach, George Maziarz, Hugh Farley and Mike Ranzenhofer.

The group unanimously contends the process of microstamping ammunition relies on unproven technology that will undoubtedly waste taxpayer dollars. They also labeled the process as ineffective at identifying criminals because the very shallow markings on microstamped bullets can be easily removed through the use of common household tools.

After recent anti Second Amendment efforts in the Assembly, the Senate Democrats are now pushing efforts to move legislation sponsored by Senator Peralta.

“Here they go again, in an extreme attempt to turn law abiding citizens into criminals, rather than tackling the real criminals. We must unite in both the Senate and throughout the state, to stop this extreme and costly effort. There is not a shred of credible evidence that proves the technology actually works. We will work together to protect the Second Amendment,” they said in a joint statement.

It is clear that a majority of the Senate Codes Committee opposes this legislation, and the measure will not be reported from the Committee. The Senate Codes Committee has been in opposition to this legislation in the past and continues to oppose this ill-advised measure.