Energy Conservation Projects Awarded Stimulus Funding

Kenneth P. LaValle

March 09, 2010

Senator Kenneth P. LaValle is pleased to announce that several organizations, hospitals, schools, and municipalities within the First Senate District have been named recipients of the second round of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funds designated for energy conservation projects.

            Under the ARRA  federal stimulus program, agencies may submit a request for funding for projects that will help cut their individual energy costs while also reducing New York’s energy consumption and protecting the environment.  The awards for the second round of funding received within the First Senate District include:

            John T. Mather Memorial Hospital to install a chiller VSD upgrade and complete an interior and exterior lighting retrofit; the Ross School to install a 49kW photovoltaic system; the Port Jefferson UFSD to install a 48kW photovoltaic system; the William Floyd UFSD to complete a geothermal heating/cooling project; the Amagansett Fire District to install two 18kw PV systems and one 20kW wind turbine; the Village of Southampton to install a 49kW photovoltaic system; the Village of East Hampton to install one 15kW and one 32kW photovoltaic system; the Village of Sag Harbor to install a 10 kW photovoltaic system; and Suffolk County Community College to retrocommission and repair an existing HVAC control system and install high efficiency condensing boilers.

            “I am pleased that energy savings projects within my Senate district have been recognized as worthy of federal stimulus funding and that those awarded the funds are making a conscious effort to improve and protect our quality of life,” concluded Senator LaValle.