LaValle: Individual Federal Disaster Aid Approved For Suffolk

New York State Senator Kenneth P. LaValle today said that federal disaster assistance is now available for homeowners, renters and small businesses in Suffolk County as a result of damages incurred by Hurricane Irene. Governor Cuomo made the announcement today

“Those who have suffered losses should call FEMA’s registration number – 1-800-621-3362, or register on online as soon as possible,” LaValle said.

Residents and small businesses in a total of 19 counties are now eligible to apply for the following assistance: the Individuals and Households Program, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, USDA food coupons and distribution, USDA food commodities, Disaster Legal Services, the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Suffolk County residents/municipalities are eligible for:

· Individual Assistance (Assistance to individuals and households)

· Public Assistance (Assistance for debris removal, emergency protective actions and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities

· Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards): All counties in the State of New York are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.