Brooklyn – State Senator Martin J. Golden (R-C-I, Brooklyn) and

members of his anti-litter essay contest committee, today are announcing

that twenty-one finalists have been selected to compete in the essay

contest ceremony scheduled for Thursday, February 25th at Xaverian High

School, 7100 Shore Road in Brooklyn.


The finalists selected represent students from grades 3, 4 and 5,

from a variety of local public, private and parochial schools including

P.S. 102, P.S. 104, P.S. 127, P.S. 176, P.S. 185, P.S. 186, P.S. 204, P.S.

264, Adelphi Academy, Holy Angels Catholic Academy, St. Patrick Catholic

Academy, and Visitation Academy. The First Annual “Don’t Drop It”

anti-litter essay contest received more than five hundred essays from

schools within Senator Golden’s district and based on this success, the

contest will be expanded next year.


Senator Marty Golden stated, “Improving and maintaining the quality

of life in our community has long been the cornerstone of my career in

public service. That is why I sponsored this essay contest this year, in

order to teach our students the need to keep our community and streets

clean. This contest is generating an important dialogue amongst our

families, our schools and beyond, and I believe it will impact many of our

residents to take greater pride in our neighborhood. I look forward to the

contest finals and thank all the schools who have participated in this

civics lesson.”


The finalists will present their essays before a panel of judges that

includes Debra Barreto, Deputy Director of NYC Sanitation Department

Customer Relations, Josephine Beckmann, District Manager of Brooklyn’s

Community Board 10, and Laurie Windsor, President of Community Education

Council District 20. The event is open to the public and residents are

encouraged to attend.


The finalists are:


P.S. 102 Devon Wong and Sarah Ibrahim

P.S. 104 Rachael Mak

P.S. 127 Rita Filali, Mattao Gutierrez and Belal Hamed

P.S. 176 Violeta Zani and Paola Vega

P.S. 185 Luca Friedman

P.S.186 Diana Stoupakis

P.S. 204 Nicholas Magenta

P.S. 264 Rhianna Gonzalez, Damon Merazzi and Elexander Bawa

Adelphi Academy Timothy Chirkov

Holy Angels Catholic Academy Andrew Stosko, Nolan Keegan and

Sebastian Travers

St. Patrick Catholic Academy Fiona Costello

Visitation Academy Isabella Incata and Agnes Keough


Members of the media are invited to attend.